Babycakes Bakery

I finally visited Babycakes Bakery for the first time after having read much about it.

I spoke with owner Kerri Delaney in March when I was recruiting bakers for CupcakeCamp. I had read much about Babycakes, but admitted to Kerri that I had never been. Kerri could not have been kinder or more gracious and immediately signed on to contribute her cupcakes to CupcakeCamp. Her cupcakes were fabulous and I couldn’t wait to finally visit and sample some more. Babycakes is located in Quincy, just a few blocks from the Wollaston T stop on the Red line (to Braintree).

The shop is clean, bright, and refreshingly simple. Directly in front of you when you walk in is the cupcake case containing at least a dozen varieties that change daily. When I went, the flavors included Boston Cream, Lemon Coconut, Carrot, Turtle, Mexican Hot Chocolate, and several more. I initially chose a selection of four: Lemon Raspberry, Vanilla Vanilla, the Babycake (chocolate cupcake filled with whipped cream, topped with chocolate ganache) and Red Velvet. Kerri threw in the Milk Chocolate Raspberry and Banana Chocolate because she saw how intensely I was eyeing them.

My favorite was the Vanilla Vanilla. Simple, but executed oh so elegantly. I also really enjoyed the Lemon Raspberry. The Banana Chocolate is a moist, flavorful banana bread in a cupcake form, topped with chocolate ganache The chocolate topped cakes were nice, but as you can see, I really go for the frosting topped. Click here to see the rotating selection of flavors.

It may be a trek, but it’s worth it.

Babycakes
163 Beale Street
Quincy, MA
(617) 773-4458
Babycakes on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Babycakes Bakery

  1. Pingback: Sugar Sweet Sunshine | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

