Flour Cookbook Release Party

A couple weeks ago I attended a party celebrating the launch of Joanne Chang’s Flour cookbook. As a longtime fan of Flour Bakery, I was excited for the cookbook as well as a party filled with scrumptious Flour treats.

I don’t necessarily judge a book by its cover, but clearly I am going to be more enticed to open up a cookbook that displays artful design and tempting photos right on the cover. What awaits you inside the Flour cookbook are beautiful pastry glamour shots and a comprehensive collection of recipes that allow you to bake your favorite treats from Flour in your own kitchen.

An enormous crowd turned out for the party, which was held at Flour’s new location in Cambridge. In addition to platter upon platter of pastries, there were also several savory dishes from the Flour cafe, including roasted broccoli and fingerling potatoes with romesco sauce;

and golden beets tossed with manouri cheese, dill and toasted pine nuts.

There were several different pizzas. My favorite without a doubt was the caramelized leek, pecorino and breadcrumb pizza.

To accompany the meal, Central Bottle Wine, the fantastic wine and specialty food shop located right next door to Flour, joined the celebration with several different wines including the Saracco Moscato that I loved. It was bright lightly sweet without being cloying. If you have never been to Central Bottle, I highly recommend checking it out. They have an extensive wine selection and several gourmet foods, and the owners and staff are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly.

And then there was dessert…

Platters of cookies, including oatmeal raisin, valrhona double chocolate chip, ginger molasses, and milk chocolate hazelnut.

Mini tartlettes: chocolate truffle, ooey-gooey caramel nut, fresh fruit, milk chocolate mousse, and lemon lust.

Hazelnut-Almond Dacquoise.


The most exciting dessert of the night may have been the fill-your-own mini oreos with three different fillings: standard vanilla buttercream, mint and peanut butter. I’ve only ever seen the vanilla sold at Flour, but I might make a formal request that they start selling the peanut butter as well.

My plate of goodies, including clockwise from top left: a chocolate chip oatmeal coconut cookie, lemon lust tartlette, the infamous pecan sticky buns (also pictured at top), mini oreo, and milk chocolate mousse tartlette.


A tremendous thank you to Joanne, the staff of Flour (who are some of the friendliest staff in Boston by the way), and Nicole at All Heart PR for an absolutely fantastic event. Some day soon I will try out some of the recipes from the cookbook. But that might have to wait until the weather turns frigid. Until then, I will happily make a trip to one of the Flours to get my pastry fix.

Flour Bakery + Cafe on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flour Cookbook Release Party

  1. Megan says:

    Great recap! Wish I had gotten to meet you. (I’m definitely in your crowd picture.. ha ha!) I used to work at Flour and absolutely love it. The party was so fun, and I’m psyched to start baking from the book at home.

  2. kevyn says:

    I really like the idea of “fill your own oreo!” Very interested to read about the second book. I was a tad put off with her first book when she compared fancy cakes to “popular kids in high school” — good on the outside but no so good on the inside. That was kind of weird. Otherwise, I love the first book.

Leave a Reply

