Brunch and Lunch at Dorado

Dorado Tacos has been an area favorite of mine ever since I first tried it about a year ago. A month or so ago, I received an email from the owner that Dorado was beginning to serve weekend brunch and included the words Huevos Rancheros, Breakfast Tacos and Mexican Hot Chocolate. I was sold. I finally made it over for brunch this past Sunday with Dave and some friends.

I started out with the Mexican hot chocolate. I am a fan of Mexican hot chocolate in many forms. I usually prefer my hot chocolate thick, the kind that’s hard to finish an entire cup. This was thinner, but with the complex cinnamon-chocolate flavor, and I actually preferred the thinner consistency.

Most of the group ended up ordering off the regular menu, which is served alongside the brunch menu. This group has quite the affinity for Dorado’s fish tacos. Connor ordered three tacos: grilled marinated chicken with roasted tomato & habañero salsa, guacamole, and queso fresco; the Dorado fish taco; and the Enseñada fish taco.

Sid ordered fish tacos to start as well as a pork milanese cemita.

Having a keen interest in the brunch menu, I ordered the breakfast taco with scrambled eggs, fresh salsa, guacamole, and queso fresco. The eggs were perfectly cooked and fluffy. Scrambled eggs in tacos are fast becoming a favorite of mine, wrapped in a warm soft tortilla with sweet, juicy salsa and smooth guacamole.

Below, Rani’s Dorado taco and portabella mushroom taco.

Brunch might now be my go-to meal at Dorado, with the elote long-gone from the menu and not returning till next summer, the scrambled egg taco is now my favorite item. It is perfect for spiciness-wimps like myself, because it does not have the spicy sauces used on most of the other menu items. I’m not asking them to offer their entire brunch menu all the time, but if they could just move the scrambled egg taco onto the regular menu, I would be one happy camper.

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brunch and Lunch at Dorado

  1. I love Dorado too. Their caesar salad is actually pretty good too. And now I’m craving t=for their salty chips!

  2. LOVE Dorado…their quesadillas rock. Have been meaning to make it out there to their brunch….great review!

  3. Lara says:

    Thanks for the write-up! Kate @The SBK and I were just there for tacos and were wondering about breakfast. I love the mix of scrambled eggs, salsa, and guacamole too.

    Great to meet you at brunch!

  4. love dorado! good to know they’re doing brunch now, too. I’ll definitely have to check it out :) [chels]

  5. Savvy says:

    Never been to Dorado, but that cinnamon hot cocoa sounds fantastic!! :D

  6. Sidney says:

    Wow that sandwich looks amazing

  7. Pingback: Brunch Plates at Dorado | Free Food Boston

  8. Pingback: Chicago Day 1: Xoco, Bleeding Heart Bakery, and Cumin | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

