Insomnia Cookies


Just in time for my sojourn to New York, my friend Laura forwarded me a coupon for two free cookies at Insomnia Cookies. Insomnia Cookies is located in the heart of NYU and started out as a late night cookie delivery service for college kids with the munchies. You can get their cookies during the daylight hours as well from their storefront on West 8th Street.

Based on the concept (late-night munchies) and pictures I had seen, I was not expecting any sort of amazing cookie. But I will try most anything for free, and so Mat and I took a walk there over the weekend to try them. The store is a cozy and sparsely decorated. The cookies are displayed in three wicker baskets on a small wooden counter. We had our pick of nine varieties (the larger premium cookies were not included in the deal).

I was deciding between the oatmeal raisin and the coconut pecan. The employee gave me a broken piece of a coconut pecan to taste. It was quite excellent and I am not easily smitten with a coconut cookie. It was moist and chewy with hearty chunks of pecans. He gave me a fairly sizable piece so I ordered the oatmeal raisin, wanting to try as many kinds as possible. Mat got the peanut butter chip and double chocolate cookie and I opted for the double chocolate as well and the oatmeal raisin.

Sadly, that piece of coconut pecan was actually the best of the bunch. The rest were not nearly as moist. The cookies are kept in a warmer so that every cookie you order comes out warm and melty. The problem is, the warmer dries them out. While the first bite was warm and soft, just seconds later as it started to cool, the cookies became very hard and crumbly. But when it was still warm, the double chocolate was delicious, chewy with big, melted chunks of chocolate. All of them had a nice flavor in fact, but they were just too dry. I certainly would not go out of my way to return to Insomnia, but if I happened to walk past, I would be tempted to pick a coconut pecan cookie. I am curious about some of the other varieties, but I’ll probably wait until I find another discount to try those.


Insomnia CookiesInsomnia Cookies on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insomnia Cookies

  1. It’s amazing to visit this site and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this post, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

  2. Snoring Dog says:

    You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I to find this topic to
    be actually one thing that I believe I would by no means understand.

    It seems too complicated and very vast for me. I am looking
    forward on your next publish, I will attempt to get the hold of it!

Leave a Reply

