Tablespoon

I have a real appreciation for restaurants and food establishments that take adavantage of Twitter. I am particularly fond of cafes and food trucks that tweet their daily specials, like Petsi Pies, Clover Food Truck, and Regal Beagle. I used to work just a few blocks from Petsi Pies, and if co-workers and I were going out to lunch, I would wait to read Petsi Pies’ daily specials to see if they were serving something I really wanted to try. One of my favorite places that tweets their daily specials is Tablespoon in New York.

Not only does Tablespoon tweet descriptions of their specials, they tweet photos as well, like this one, and this one, and this one too. There have been many a day I’ve read their specials and gotten excited only to quickly realize that they are in New York and I in Boston. I was looking forward to stopping in when I got to New York before Thanksgiving. I tweeted how excited I was that I could actually go and get their specials, and Liza, who manages Tablespoon’s social media, generously offered to treat me.

d

Tablespoon fits into the category of my favorite type of food establishment, a cafe/bakery, in simplest terms. When you enter, directly in front of you is a shelf with homemade jams, baking mixes, and granola that looks like it belongs in a quaint shop in a quiet town in Maine. To the right is a long counter that displays Tablespoon’s extensive array of pastries, some of which are standard, and some that rotate.

d
d

Tablespoon bases their menu around local seasonal produce. When I went over summer, I enjoyed two of the most delicious mini open-faced sandwiches: heirloom tomato and fresh parsley on wheat toast with harissa aioli & sliced almonds, and hummus on ciabatta toast with nectarine salsa.


Sadly, heirloom tomatoes and nectarines are not around in November. But they did have an excellent Vermont cheddar sandwich with watercress, and dijon on grain bread that I shared with my mom when we went a few weeks ago. Theactually Simple cheese sandwiches are a delight that I do not partake in nearly enough. Especially a sharp cheese paired with creamy, spicy mustard and crispy greens on a hearty grain bread.

We followed up our sandwich with a selection of pastries. First off was the white chocolate chip blondie that I have stared at and resisted during my previous visits. The white chocolate is in disks or feves. The middle is chewy and tastes of brown sugar and caramel. The outside is nicely thick and crunchy like a blondie should be.

And what better to pair with a blondie than a brownie. The brownie had a similar texture to the blondie, soft and chewy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. It was dark and cocoa-y, not overly sweet or rich.


And since I knew I wasn’t making regular pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, I took advantage of the opportunity to get a slice of Tablespoon’s, which looked particularly good. The filling was smooth and rich, but also light. It was not weighed down with spices, a pumpkin pet peeve of mine.

If you happen to be in New York, Tablespoon is a worthwhile stop. If you are anywhere outside New York and a glutton for punishment, then I encourage you to check out Tablespoon’s daily tweets.

Tablespoon
17 West 20th Street
New York, NY
Spoon on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tablespoon

  1. Megan says:

    Tablespoon sounds like such a cute spot, and I absolutely adore the name. All of the sandwiches look incredible! I will have to keep it in mind for an NY trip.

  2. Daisy says:

    the vermont cheddar sandwich is calling my name. what a great place.

  3. Michelle says:

    Tablespoon sounds so cozy! As someone who uses social media, don’t you love it when businesses use it effectively?

  4. That cheese sandwich looks so good! I love places with daily specials. I used to live near Petsi Pies, everything there is awesome! I wished I were in Harvard Square now so I can walk to Petsi Pies for lunch!

  5. Emily says:

    Wow, this place looks great. They need to open a Boston location asap. In the meantime, Petsi’s and Clover are pretty great alternatives. I also love Crema Cafe in Harvard Square!

  6. Looks like a great place to grab a sandwich and a coffee. I will keep it in mind next time I go to New York!

  7. All I can say is YUM. That sandwich looks really good. I agree with you, I love when places tweet menu specials. I also love when they tweet specials in general. Maybe it’s because I like things for free :)

  8. Alicia says:

    I agree – I love when restaurants take advantage of twitter. The food looks great. I should make more cheese sandwiches – lord knows I always have cheese!

Leave a Reply

