Otto Pizza


I was excited to learn earlier this year that Otto Pizza, which originated in Portland, ME, would be moving into Harvard Square. I had never tried pizza from the original Otto location, but I have a strong prejudice towards anything that hails from Portland. I think it is all pretty much amazing.


The new Harvard Square outpost is tiny, with barely enough room to accommodate the hungry patrons that descend on Otto in a constant stream. There is a counter facing out onto the street with room for four people to stand and eat. The decor is clean and bright with white-tiled walls that evoke the feeling of an old-fashioned pizzeria.

Otto makes 24 different pies and any slice is $3. Varieties include mushroom and cauliflower, and white bean, sausage and herb as well as some slightly more non-traditional pies like mashed potato-bacon-scallion, pulled pork and mango, and apple-bacon-red onion.

 

We ordered the plain Margherita and the butternut squash, ricotta, cranberry. Both had perfectly thin but sturdy crusts that were nicely crisp. The Margherita has no sauce but instead is topped with slices of fresh tomato and a healthy sprinkling of fresh basil. The quantity of cheese was perfect, ample but not so much that it formed a thick, greasy mess. The flavor from the fresh basil is delightful and really made this pie.

I half expected the squash pizza to be sweet, but it was not at all. The dollops of creamy ricotta and earthy squash were punctuated by clusters of sweet and chewy dried cranberries. The base of mozzarella cheese provided a nice salty contrast to the rest of the toppings. The slices are generously-sized and at $3 each, there is not much holding you back from returning frequently to try the many different kinds.

Otto Pizza
1432 Mass Ave.
Cambridge, MA
Otto Pizza on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Otto Pizza

  1. Michelle says:

    I’d have to agree that I’m also biased towards Portland and think that food from Portland is usually fantastic! I haven’t been to Otto Pizza yet but it reminds me of a place in Amherst, MA called Antonio’s!

  2. Carole says:

    Hey! I’m from Portland!!!! I’ll have to try this place when I visit this summer!

  3. I love Otto!! My favorite is the cauliflower and mushroom pizza. It’s dangerous that I live so close because it’s so easy for me to get a slice whenever I crave for some pizza! ;)

  4. How have I missed this place?! I love ricotta on a pizza.

  5. Peggy says:

    Haven’t been to either Otto’s, but I think I need to plan a trip to the East Coast very soon! =)

  6. I go here occasionally on workdays when I feeling ho-hum about my lunch. It’s a great pick-me-up!

  7. Megan says:

    I got the mashed potato pizza there, and while it’s not as good as Bar’s in CT, it hit the spot. Jeff got some chicken pizza but wasn’t as impressed… so we have a mixed review. Their space is definitely really tiny!

  8. Daisy says:

    holy heck this looks so good.

  9. cakewhiz says:

    Aaaaah! i wish i was in portland coz that margharita pizza looks SOOOOO good! i just wanna dig in….

  10. Lea says:

    oh hey you went to otto! i can’t wait to try it. $3 a slice is decent for harvard sq. And I see from their online menu that the whole pie prices aren’t bad either – on par with most higher end pizza places in metro boston area.

  11. Melissa says:

    I’ve had the plain cheese and the cheese tortellini pizza at Otto. The tortellini pizza was great and filling, but I don’t like how they do their cheese – there’s no sauce on the bottom, instead they put a few globs on sauce on top of the cheese. Not my preferred style! Love that they offer so many toppings options though and always have plenty of vegetarian variety!

  12. I walked by Otto the other day and was intrigued! Will definitely have to check it out!

  13. Clean Plate says:

    Wow, I’ve never heard of Otto but now must try! The butternut intrigues me big time. I never would have thought to put that (and cranberries too!) on a pizza. Thanks!

  14. Tania deLuzuriaga says:

    oh man, I can’t believe i haven’t been here yet. I work across the street! Definitely at the top of my list now.

  15. Audrey Ellen says:

    i’ve heard nothing but good things about this place, and your pictures are so drool worthy, i must go!

  16. Pingback: LiveWork Portland – Otto Pizza, Portland’s Gift to Cambridge

  17. Thanks for all the kind words! You may have heard we’re opening a shop in Brookline, too, in Coolidge Corner, in May. If you get over that way, please stop by. We’d love to see you, and there’ll be more seats in the Coolidge Corner shop, so you can stay a while, if you like.

  18. otto zutz says:

    I am no longer positive the place you are getting your info, however good topic. I must spend some time finding out more or working out more. Thank you for fantastic information I was in search of this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

