Stone Hearth Pizza Co.


Following our trip to the Pawtucket Farmers’ Market and a day spent in Providence, Dave and I headed to Stone Hearth Pizza in Cambridge for dinner. Stone Hearth serves thin crust pizzas, in addition to salads, panini, and baked pastas and purchases many of its ingredients from local farms and producers. The list of specials, which changes every month, makes use of produce in season.

We went on April 30th, which meant we were there for the last day of the April specials and we took full advantage. The April salad was a Buttery Bib & Avocado, with bibb lettuce (I subbed spinach instead), avocado, red onion, sliced radish with a housemade orange-honey & ginger dressing. The crunchy radishes played nicely against the the creamy avocado. The dressing was without a doubt the best part, sweet and citrusy with just a slight hint of ginger. It tied all of the elements together perfectly.


The pizzas come in three sizes: junior, regular and large. The junior, an 8 inch pie, is perfect for one person. Dave ordered another April special, the Washburn – garlic oil base, topped with sweet caramelized onions, arugula, prosciutto, provolone and mozzarella. He got it on the new multi-grain crust that Stone Hearth recently began offering. They also have white and whole wheat crusts, in addition to gluten-free crusts. 

Our server recommended Brooklyn Brewery’s Summer Ale, a great choice for a mild day and it paired beautifully with the pizzas. (Sidenote: When I was 14 or so, I toured the Brooklyn Brewery during the summer with my parents. Apparently, they had no qualms back then about sampling to young’ns because they served me glass after glass of ale on that sweltering hot day).

There are two pizzas I almost always order at Stone Hearth. One is The Bean. The other, which I ordered on Saturday is the Farm Fresh – garlic oil, roasted cherry tomatoes, charred red and yellow peppers, yukon gold potatoes, artichoke hearts, green and black olives, fresh mozzarella, topped with a salad of arugula, red onion and prosciutto. I ordered it on the whole wheat crust, which was tender in the middle crisp and cracker-like around the edges. I love the abundance of vegetables and greens that tops this pie. It’s practically a pizza and a salad in one. The mix of chunky vegetables, dressed arugula and fresh mozzarella lend an incredible amount of flavor without being the least bit heavy or greasy.

I love the food at Stone Hearth and I love the restaurant for its commitment to supporting local farms and producers. On their website, you can see a list of places they source their ingredients from, which includes one of my favorite farms, Verrill Farm in Concord. This month, with spring vegetables finally starting to come in, the specials include a salad with oven roasted ramps and radishes, and a shaved asparagus and portobello pizza. Stone Hearth Pizza is that perfect combination of really good food and a mission I strongly believe in.

Stone Hearth Pizza on Urbanspoon

Stone Hearth Pizza Co. 
1782 Mass Ave.
Cambridge

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stone Hearth Pizza Co.

  1. Melissa says:

    Those are my two favorites too – The Bean and the Farm Fresh. Love the bean spread on the Bean!

  2. Daisy says:

    I can’t wait to try this place out, everything looks SO beautiful, bright and fresh!

  3. Can’t wait to go there in person. Have heard such good things and your photos further convince me that Stone Hearth pizza will be delish!

  4. I want some pizza on a multigrain crust! Looking forward to our dinner – see you soon!

  5. Megan says:

    That farm fresh pizza sounds amazing! I love when places really make an effort to use local products.

  6. Michelle says:

    You know how much I adore Stone Hearth Pizza! I’ve got to make a return visit soon…

  7. I am so excited to try this pizza! I love that you toured the brewery and tasted beer at 14! :)

  8. I really like Stone Hearth. They have some yummy pizzas!

  9. Pingback: Stone Hearth Pizza – Late Spring | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

