3 Scoops

After popping in to the new Treats on Washington last week, I realized that I was also right by 3 Scoops, an ice cream shop in Brighton Center. 3 Scoops is only open in the warmer months and back in March, I was invited by one of the owners to preview the various flavors and confections in advance of their opening for the season. I was not able to make it to then, but when I stopped in last week, Rayna, one of the shop’s employees, graciously offered to sample a few of the flavors.

On the 3 Scoops Facebook page, it says that all of their ice cream is “handmade, artisan, and organic… Made from the freshest ingredients from local farmers.” I am always curious about businesses that source from nearby farms and I would love to know what those farms are. I haven’t heard back yet from the owners regarding further details, but I did find out one thing from my visit to 3 Scoops. The ice cream is good. Really good. 

They offer over 50 flavors of ice cream, frozen yogurt and sorbet. The flavors, be it chocolate, fruit, mint, or one of many others, are bold. The ice cream is dense and creamy, indicative of a high butterfat. They offer some fun and slightly less common flavors like peanut butter & jelly and green tea. A look at some of the flavors I sampled:

The mud pie ice cream was a smooth chocolate with crunchy cookie crumbs.

Raspberry frozen yogurt has a wonderfully bright and sweet berry flavor.

Chocolate ice cream had a deep cocoa flavor as opposed to a creamy chocolate, but still with the dense, almost chewy texture that all of the flavors have.

The peanut butter and jelly flavor featured a peanut butter ice cream swirled with rich grape jelly.

Black cherry ice cream had a mild vanilla base punctuated by juicy black cherries.

Dave is a big fan of green tea ice cream and loved the one from 3 Scoops. There was a lightness to it despite the rich and creamy texture. The green tea flavor builds gradually after you first taste it. As it melts and your tongue and slowly warms up, you get more and more of the fragrant notes of tea.

I opted for a frappe made with one of my favorite flavors of the ones I tried, mud pie. Blended with milk and housemade fudge sauce, the frappe was thick and with a rich chocolate flavor. The blended cake crumbs added a fun texture.

The ice cream at 3 Scoops is excellent. The texture is dense and creamy and each flavor is bold. On occasion they do ice cream sandwiches and other confections. They are always experimenting with flavors and sundae combinations. Though the location is out of the way for me, I truly enjoyed 3 Scoops and I hope to return multiple times throughout the summer.

3 Scoops
403 Washington St
Brighton, MA

3 Scoops on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 3 Scoops

  1. I missed their tasting that weekend last spring too but now I really want to go anyway! The flavors really do sound unique and delicious and even the “standards” (like green tea… although not really standard for ice cream shops, just Asian restaurants) sound like winners! :)

  2. Green tea ice cream sounds so good! I have said it before, but you seriously find the most delicious looking places!

  3. It’s funny because I don’t care for drinking green tea but I love those Mochi balls from TJs and bet I’d love this ice cream too!

  4. Daisy says:

    those flavors sound killer! PB&J?! how fun! I am also a big fan of green tea ice cream but I have only ever ate it in restaurants!

  5. shannon says:

    i was planning on going to the tasting… but then ended up at abbotts frozen custard instead ;) which i love (chocolate almond all the way!). i’ll have to see if i can tear myself away and give 3 scoops a try!

  6. I love 3 scoops too – sometimes I coerce my co-workers to have lunch in Brighton Center just so we’d be close to 3 scoops for dessert afterwards ;) And Athens is right beside it, which is also incredible.

  7. Alicia says:

    Those flavors sound AWESOME. I love local ice cream joints – they always have the best product.

  8. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    The peanut butter and jelly ice cream looks AWESOME! I am loving all of your dining adventures lately!

  9. I’ve lived in Brighton for over 4 years and I STILL haven’t been here. This will have to change soon!

  10. Megan says:

    Ooh I definitely want to try the mud pie and pb&j!

  11. Molly Galler says:

    When I moved to Brighton 3 years ago this was one of the first places I discovered and became addicted to. I have dinner with the same Brighton friend every Thursday night and we always end at 3 Scoops for dessert! I wish they were open all year long! It kills me every year! They have incredible frozen yogurt offerings, which I really appreciate.

Leave a Reply

