Gran Gusto

Gran Gusto is located in quite possibly the most unassuming area of Cambridge. My dad sent me a link to a review of Gran Gusto more than two years ago, but it took me until this year to finally go. Reviews alleged that Gran Gusto made the most authentic Neopolitan pies in the Boston area, a claim that is even more believable when you learn that the chef, Giuseppe Castellano, hails from Naples. With every restaurant nowadays boasting ingredients that were sourced locally, at Gran Gusto it is the opposite. Over 80 percent of what they use is shipped in weekly from Italy, including flour, olive oil, truffles, mozzarella and other cheeses.

Even though the iPhone photos are blurry, you still get a pretty good idea as to what this pizza is like. We got the Arugola pizza with prosciutto, arugula, and parmesan as well as the Margherita, with tomato sauce, bufala mozzarella and fresh basil. While I never made it to Naples, I did have my fair share of pizza in both Rome and Tuscany, and this pizza was reminiscent of those I had in Italy. Thin pizza crusts suffer two downfalls: being too crisp and cracker-like, or being too thin and soggy that it collapses under the toppings. This crust suffered neither. It was gloriously chewy, and cripsy on the outermost edge. Though I’m usually a fan of excessive sauce, a light-handed application on this pie is what prevented the crust from collapsing when you pick up a slice. It was beautiful in its simplicity, just sauce, cheese, basil and a drizzle of olive oil. The second pie had the same Margherita base, with some added decadence from the prosciutto, arugula and parmesan.

Several places claim to offer authentic Neopolitan-style pizza. Gran Gusto is certainly one of the most authentic I’ve had in Boston. I liked it for this reason, but also because the pizza was well-made in general, and the ingredients were very high quality, something that you could taste in the final product. The location is very much off the beaten path, but it is worth it just to try the pizza.

Gran Gusto
90 Sherman Street
Cambridge, MA

Gran Gusto on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gran Gusto

  1. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    Your description of these pizzas has my mouth watering this morning! I feel a pizza craving coming on…

  2. I love a perfect thin crust pizza. This looks yummy!

  3. Daisy says:

    sounds like an awesome spot. I love that your Dad scoped it out!

  4. Megan says:

    Definitely on my list…even more so now that I’ve read your review.

  5. Pingback: North End Boston Food Tour with Bertolli | EatWellWithJanel

  6. Pingback: North End Boston Food Tour with Bertolli

Leave a Reply

