Three Tarts

As part of my ice cream sandwich quest last summer, my mother and I came across Three Tarts on the west side of Manhattan. During the summer, they offer a unique kind of ice cream sandwich, with the ice cream sandwiched between two thin slices of cake. Flavors are fun and inventive: ginger ice cream with honey candy on lemon cake, black sesame ice cream on miso cake, banana ice cream with chocolate cake, and chocolate cake with strawberry-balsamic ice cream. I promise I will feature a review of the ice cream sandwiches soon. This review, though, is of the delectable mini tarts, cookies, mini parfaits that they offer year round.

On this visit, we tried some items we’d tried previously, as well as some new ones. We had never had the mini parfaits and decided to try two. The chocolate banana parfait has bananas soaked in a spiced caramel-rum sauce with graham crackers and vanilla bean marshmallow cream, topped with chocolate whipped cream and a toasted marshmallow. The black and white rice pudding has layers of jasmine and forbidden rice cooked in coconut milk and garnished with chopped apricot. This one also happened to be vegan. Both parfaits were refreshingly light in texture, not laden with heavy cream and sugar.

Clockwise from top left: crunchy hazelnut chocolate praline, Gluten free lemon tea cake, pistachio macaron, coconut macaroon, yuzu macaron, gluten free granola cookie, crunchy almond meringue, cardamom lovely and chocolate lovely (the thin sandwich cookies), chocolate espresso ganache tart garnished with edible silver leaf, lemon curd tart with baked meringue cookie. One of my absolute favorites is the hazelnut chocolate praline which is incredibly light and airy, and shatters the second you bite into it. The chocolate espresso tart is elegant in its minimalist appearance. Beneath that tame exterior is a wonderfully smooth and rich ganache with a pleasant and prominent espresso flavor.

Lemon is one of my favorite flavors in desserts. The mini lemon tart was perfect in its simplicity. The crust was very thin and tender. The curd filling was a dollop of rich and tangy lemon. The meringue was a crisp cookie, not a soft topping like on a meringue pie. The light, crispy meringue provides a nice contrast to the thick, tart filling.

Not pictured in the box, we also got the pine nut tart with wildflower honey caramel and the kumquat frangipane tart adorned with glazed kumquat slices.

The shop has a few cafe tables and also sells assorted gifts and children’s toys. I admit I would not have thought that such a prim and pretty shop would sell such well-made confections. If you are ever in need of a small treat, or an assortment to bring to a party, Three Tarts is an excellent choice.

Three Tarts
164 9th Ave
New York, NY

Three Tarts on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Three Tarts

  1. Erica says:

    I am a parfait fanatic! I would all over that goodness :) And I love the idea of the cake ice cream sandwiches. Although I’m not a huge chocolate person, chocolate and banana go SO well together. I bet the banana ice cream with chocolate cake is awesome.

  2. I was like, “Where is this place in Boston?” and then I saw it was in NYC and I cried.

  3. Michelle says:

    Wow, these flavors sounds really interesting! I love the sound of those parfaits and the pine nut tart!

  4. Joanne says:

    How have I lived here my entire life and NEVER FREQUENTED THIS ESTABLISHMENT! I’ve been deprived.

  5. I love how pretty the parfaits are!

  6. Not enough places serve interesting parfait combinations. Nice to see a place that takes them into serious consideration!

  7. Megan says:

    I love mini tarts and things! Wish this place was closer. I might have to recreate that lemon tart.

  8. So many treats, so little time! That lemon tart looks perfectly adorable and delicious. I’m also intrigued by the cardamom lovely :)

  9. Daisy says:

    these combinations are so creative. a yuzu macaroon? jasmine rice in a parfait? How amazing!

  10. shannon says:

    seriously my mouth is watering. so many delicious flavor combinations they’ve got!!

  11. Pingback: Ice Cream Sandwiches at Three Tarts | Free Food Boston

  12. Pingback: Oro Bakery | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

