Tu-lu’s Gluten-Free Bakery

Before heading up to the wedding on Saturday, there was some more celebrating to be had. Saturday was my sister Emily’s birthday. Emily does not eat gluten and my mom decided this year to get her birthday cake from Tu-Lu’s Gluten-Free Bakery.

Emily has tried Tu-Lu’s on multiple occasions and liked it and I’d tried a cookie from there as well. Ever since the bakery opened they have been getting rave reviews of their gluten-free baked goods that don’t taste how many people expect gluten-free treats to taste.


My mom decided on a vanilla cake with strawberry preserves in the middle and a vanilla cream cheese frosting. I would happily eat this cake whenever I have a sweets craving. I have had many a gluten-free baked good and this one was not the least bit different in taste or texture from cake made with wheat flour. It was moist and tender with a fine crumb and pleasant vanilla flavor. The strawberry preserves were sweet without being cloying or goopy, a pet peeve of mine when it comes to fruit fillings in cakes. 

The frosting had a wonderful flavor and texture, though it did not taste like cream cheese frosting (cream cheese frosting on its own does not contain gluten so it is not as though this was a faux cream cheese frosting, it must just have been a very mild cream cheese flavor). Nevertheless, the frosting was delicious. It had a delightful light and airy texture and was not overly sweet.


As you all know, I am quite the cake connoisseur and had I been given a slice of this cake not knowing where it came from, I never would have guessed that it was gluten-free. It made for quite a crowd-pleasing birthday cake and we already have plans to order a Tu-Lu’s cake for my mom’s birthday in September. 

Tu-Lu’s
338 East 11th Street
New York, NY
Tu-Lu's on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tu-lu’s Gluten-Free Bakery

  1. My sister’s name is Elizabeth – our families have children with the same names! (Do you have a brother named Jeremy by chance?!) Happy birthday to your sister and glad she found an awesome GF cake to celebrate.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Really?? That’s so funny, I’ve actually met quite a few pairs of sisters named Emily and Elizabeth. Funny how common it is! Sadly no brother named Jeremy :P

  2. Daisy says:

    funny about the Emily / Elizabeth sister pairing. haha. happy bday to your sis, looks like you found a winning GF cake company!

  3. I love birthday cake! I’ve never tried a GF cake before though, but would like to :)

  4. Megan says:

    Emily Elizabeth always makes me think of Clifford… wasn’t that the little girl’s name? You guys are too funny.

    The cake looks delicious!

  5. Michelle says:

    I love the flavors of this cake and we’re looking at something similar for our wedding cake!

  6. shannon says:

    fabulous, great to have go-to gluten free options :)

  7. Taryn says:

    This looks great! I sadly may have to start limiting my gluten intake, so it’s exciting to know that there is hope for making delicious gluten-free goodies! Also, planning a trip to NYC soon so will definitely add this to the itinerary.

  8. Looks delish, but I do love a good cream cheesy frosting. I know what you mean when you expect that flavor and it’s not there.

  9. Melissa says:

    Looks good! A-Tooch doesn’t eat a gluten free diet either but she’s tested and approved Tu-Lus!

  10. Pingback: Harney & Sons Tea | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

