Crepe Making at Dore Creperie

Last week, a few bloggers and I had the privilege of attending a crepe making class at Dore, a pop-up creperie in downtown Boston. Dore opened in June and will remain open until November.

Greg, who within a matter of months envisioned, constructed and opened Dore, started off the class with a little history of the crepe and its evolution over time. While he was spoke, he got started on the crepe griddle, showing us how they are done.


d

d

Greg prepped a savory buckwheat crepe with egg, tomato and green pepper for us to sample as well as two sweet crepes: one with nutella and strawberries and one with dried figs, walnuts and honey. Alongside the crepes we tasted Dore’s thick and incredibly rich banana nutella milkshake.

Following the instructional, Greg set us to work mixing our own crepe batter, one batch of sweet and one savory. When the batter was done, we each got our own crepe griddle and were free to experiment with various crepe and filling combinations.

My favorite creation of those I made was a sweet crepe with goat cheese, walnuts and a drizzle of honey. We had free reign of the dozens of fillings and ElinaMeganLin and I had fun experimenting with various combinations, both sweet and savory. I could have played around with several more variations during the class but multiple crepes plus a milkshake will fill you up very quickly.

In addition to our newfound crepe making expertise, the folks at Dore sent us home with batches of both sweet and savory crepe batter so that we could continue to practice and experiment. A pretty fantastic parting gift if you ask me. The crepe class makes for a very fun and enjoyable evening. The class is offered every Thursday at Dore. For more information on the crepe class, check out their website. And if you’d prefer to just have crepes served to you, Dore serves breakfast and lunch, Monday through Friday.

Dore Creperie
1 Beacon Street
Boston, MA
Dore Creperie on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Events, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crepe Making at Dore Creperie

  1. Megan says:

    Such a fun class! I think we made some awesome crepe combinations!

  2. Joanne says:

    I’m pretty sure that when I move to a new apartment…it’s going to have to have a crepe griddle. This looks awesome!

  3. This looks like a great time!

  4. This looks like such a great time. I’m sorry to have missed this crepe-making class!

  5. shannon says:

    I so wish I wasn’t working late that day… so much more fun!! Love the idea of the egg in there :)

  6. Boston Guru says:

    Unrelated but just read your about section and wondered have you every posted about your Italian farming internship? I’ve been hoping to hear more since you mentioned it in a comment.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Hey Joe! Funny you should ask. I started a blog post about it a few months ago and it’s been sitting in my drafts. It’s a little overwhelming since there’s SO much I want to share but I will finish it. I’ve been wanting to have a blog post that people can refer to for so long.

  7. How did I miss your goat cheese, walnut and honey crepe?! Sounds delicious! I could totally go for a crepe right now…

  8. Megan says:

    That sounds like so much fun!! As you may have guessed, that goat cheese crepe is on my “to eat immediately” list.

  9. Boston Guru says:

    Nice, really looking forward to it. I wonder if my boss will give me a leave of absence so I can go work on a farm in Italy??? Did I mention I’m jealous..

  10. Pingback: Making Crepes At Dore Creperie

Leave a Reply

