Crema Cafe Dessert Catering

A few weeks ago I attended an event at Crema Cafe to introduce their new Custom Cakes and Dessert Catering. I’ve posted previously about both their sweet and savory items. As a longtime fan of Crema, I was excited to check out some new sweet creations from them.

Crema is usually packed at all hours of the day with patrons chatting, tapping away on their laptops, and waiting to pick up their food and drinks. It was quite a change of pace to see the cafe completely empty and calm.

The desserts were laid out as part of sample displays for various occasions such as birthdays or bridal showers.

The centerpiece of this first table was a platter of light and fluffy but rich coconut tres leches.

Chocolate chili macarons.

From top: lemon raspberry dacquoise, vanilla macarons and peanut butter and jelly macarons, rhubarb cherry tartlettes, coconut macaroons, and banana split whoopie pies.

Banana split whoopie pies. Below, a gorgeous three-tiered hummingbird cake.

Surprisingly, my favorite items of the evening ended up being the less sweet ones, namely the soft pretzel bites, spinach and cheese croissants, and the granola bars. The pretzels came in several varieties including salted chocolate, za’atar, and gruyere. They were nicely dense and chewy inside with that perfect tangy smooth exterior. The granola bars were thick triangles of a light and chewy mixture of oats, dried cranberries and pumpkin seeds. Not at all dense, and certainly one of the more decadent granola bars I’ve ever tasted.

All of these treats and more are available for order through their website. You can view the full special event catering menu here. Thankfully, some of these items, like the granola bars, are also available at the cafe on a daily basis, and I now have further reason to stop in for a treat more than I already do. Many thanks to owners Marley and Liza for putting on a wonderful event and congratulations on a great new offering from the cafe.

Crema Cafe
27 Brattle St
Cambridge, MA
Crema Café on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crema Cafe Dessert Catering

  1. Megan was raving about those pretzel bites and they look really great!

  2. Megan says:

    Can we get more of those pretzel bites? I actually think I may try to make them!!

  3. I love Crema Cafe. That hummingbird cake is gorgeous. And I want to try some pb&j macarons! And those pretzel bites!

  4. Erica says:

    Mini food is the best! I would have been all over both the coconut tres leches and the pretzel bites. What a fun event

  5. Bite sized foods are my favorite and I love Crema Cafe – I bet they do a great catering job!

  6. Joanne says:

    I love how unique all of the flavors of everything are. Za’atar pretzel bites…sounds divine to me!

  7. Lovely and gorgeous looking desserts, esp the cake.

  8. Taryn says:

    I love Crema Cafe, but I didn’t realize they did all of this stuff! I agree about their granola bars though – super delicious!

  9. shannon says:

    ok, those pretzel bites have me, i’ll take a few please :)

  10. Daisy says:

    i am shocked you enjoyed the savory bites more than the sweets! that three tired cake is definitely gorgeous.

  11. Daisy says:

    I realize I just called the tiered cake a tired cake. haha. need.more.coffee.

Leave a Reply

