All Star Sandwich Bar

All Star Sandwich Bar in Inman Square has been on my list of places to go to for well over a year. I had my first introduction to their food when chef Johnny Diamontopoulos made his vibrant and flavorful peasant Greek salad at the Harvard Farmers’ Market last summer. He returned to the market this year and made a salad of green beans, potatoes, tomato, and olives tossed in a rich dressing of feta, Greek yogurt, lemon juice, olive oil and vinegar. Delicious, to say the least.

I finally had a chance to try the sandwiches when I stopped in for lunch last week. All month long All Star is showcasing global street food with a rotating selection of sandwiches inspired by the street food of countries around the world. The specials have included a Mexican torta, Greek gyro, Jamaican jerk chicken, and a Vietnamese banh mi. You can view the current list of specials, and their mouthwatering descriptions, here.

Dave loves Korean BBQ and chose the Kalbi- Korean BBQ Braised Short Ribs with Sharp Cheddar, House-Made Kim Chee, Fried Egg, Gojujang BBQ Sauce and Yuzu Wasabi Aioli on a Grilled Black Pepper Brioche Roll. The elements played beautifully off of one another, the rich, succulent BBQ sauce with the spicy crunch of the kimchi and the creamy heat from the wasabi aioli. The egg tempered the spice somewhat and another layer of texture to the sandwich.

Next up was the Tofu Pad Thai sandwich- Crispy Coconut-Panko Fried Tofu with Sauteed Spinach, Sesame Pickled Daikon Radish, Bean Sprouts, Carrots and Thai Peanut Sauce on Sourdough Toast. This one first and foremost gets points for creativity, taking a noodle dish and recreating it in sandwich form. The peanut sauce, tofu and pickled veggies closely mimicked the flavors and textures of pad thai. I was quite fond of the tang of the sourdough bread against the rich peanut sauce and coconut breading. I don’t usually love tofu, especially fried tofu, but this breading was flavorful and not all greasy. I particularly enjoyed the textural contrast of the chewy tofu and the crunchy vegetables.

Johnny highly recommended the Chicken Shawarma- Middle Eastern Marinated Grilled Chicken with Feta Cheese, Shredded Iceberg Lettuce, Fresh Mint, Citrus Yogurt, Charred Tomato- Cucumber Relish and Mango Tahini Sauce on Grilled Flat Bread. He makes a meatless version by subbing out the chicken for falafel. The falafel had a thick, crunchy outside, with a warm, crumbly interior. It’s not greasy, that pitfall of so many falafel, due to being grilled, not fried. The top is slathered with a rich mix of feta and yogurt, cool and creamy against the crunchy falafel. A touch of lemon and mint help to lighten the dense falafel and feta. I would have loved more of the mango tahini though, the feta and yogurt were much more prominent and I didn’t end up tasting much of the tahini.

I’d read multiple reviews that raved about All Star’s cornbread. Johnny ending up bringing over a dessert made with the cornbread: griddled cornbread topped with Greek yogurt and sour cream, moscato-stewed red grapes and honey. I was more than okay sampling the cornbread in this form. The slices had a delicately crisp outside and a moist, cakey interior. They were kept moist with a drizzle of honey. The yogurt and grape topping made for a wonderful sweet and tangy combination. It was such an inventive dessert and not overly sweet or decadent.

I loved All Star Sandwich for the creative and fun sandwiches that proved even more mouthwatering than their descriptions. The global street food offerings will be available for the rest of September and you can always stop by for their standard sandwiches, but really, they are anything but.

All Star Sandwich Bar
1245 Cambridge St.
Cambridge, MA
All Star Sandwich Bar on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to All Star Sandwich Bar

  1. It doesn’t matter where I go, I cannot get a decent bone sandwich, I always have to have home made.

  2. Megan says:

    The All Star timing is so weird! I’ve been trying to save up sandwich pictures to do the post, and I just randomly post exactly when you and Jen do. Crazy! So glad you got a chance to check it out.

  3. After seeing All Star posts from you, Megan and Jen, I am really craving it! I tried to convince Christopher to go last night, actually, but we didn’t. Good to know we have a few more days to score street food sandwiches!

  4. That tofu sandwich looks pretty amazing. I need to get to All Star!

  5. Michelle says:

    The Korean-inspired sandwich looks great!

  6. Great review! Loving all the press for All Star this week- it’s making me realize just how much I NEED to get there!

  7. Molly Galler says:

    I lived in Inman Square for 2 years and All Star was our go-to lunch spot on weekends. That tofu sandwich looks incredible! Here’s my original review: http://popbopshop.blogspot.com/2010/01/dining-out-all-star-sandwich-bar.html

  8. *drool* I like any sandwich with a fried egg, but also would love to try the fried tofu one!! I am a big fan of tofu and always looking for new ways to eat it :)

  9. shannon says:

    oh my. i finally went and now i want to go back. like asap. and eat, like, 5 other things :) that dessert also sounds a-mazing!!!

  10. Erica says:

    Seriously, you visit the BEST spots. Love the egg on a sandwich and the Chicken Shawarma looks fantastic! Happy weekend

  11. Joanne says:

    Okay so…mango tahini is totally happening in this apartment. These sound like such great sandwiches! I went to All Star once when I lived in Boston and was not impressed…it seems like they’ve upped the ante since then!

  12. Simply Life says:

    This is great to know- I haven’t tried that place yet but used to pass by it all the time!

  13. Daisy says:

    this place is just out of control good looking! I must eat there one of these days!

  14. Nice to meet you the other night! I live in Union Square, not at all far from Inman and although I keep hearing about All Star I still haven’t been there! I definitely need to try it soon…

  15. Pingback: All Star Pizza Bar | Free Food Boston

  16. Pingback: Bye Boston | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

