DC Day 1: Cupcakes, Food Trucks and More

I set out on DC day 1 with my friend Jon on a mission to find food trucks. But since most of them don’t open until lunch, we had to first figure out breakfast. We decided to walk and hope that we would stumble upon something good. And stumble upon we did. I had no idea that Cowgirl Creamery had a shop in DC in addition to the California stores. Luckily, in addition to their massive selection of cheese, they had a case filled with fabulous looking pastries as well. After perusing the cheeses, we picked out a sticky bun and a pain au chocolat. The bun was moist and topped with a thick layer of pecans and a good helping of sticky sauce.

Cowgirl Creamery
919 F Street Northwest
Washington, D.C.

Following our encounter with the Eat Wonky truck, I was still in need of lunch and so we continued onto McPherson square where there were eight or so trucks assembled to serve the area lunch crowd. Overall the truck selection didn’t thrill me until we got to the Chupa Cabra truck. The menu was not extensive but it included a pumpkin taco with sweet potato hash, tequila beans with toasted pumpkin seeds. The pumpkin was creamy and well-seasoned. The pumpkin seeds and shredded radish added a nice crunch. An overall excellent taco.

Chupa Cabra
various locations
Washington, D.C.


After tacos, we made our way to Georgetown, mostly for cupcakes. Georgetown has an particularly high number of cupcakes shops, especially compared to other DC neighborhoods. I got to try out Baked & Wired, which makes arguably the best cupcakes in DC, on my last visit this past winter. There is of course Georgetown Cupcake, but the combination of the absurd line plus mediocre reviews always manages to disuade me from going. New since I last visited was a branch of Sprinkles, the longstanding cupcake shop that started in LA. Becky voted for Sprinkles because they have vegan cupcakes and I was curious to try it anyway.

I had the salted caramel cupcake and also tried the chai and pumpkin flavors. The frosting on all of them was excellent, sugary and smooth. I particularly enjoyed the salted caramel buttercream. The caramel cake was less impressive but not bad. It was moist but had a slightly spongey texture. The chai cake and pumpkin cake were better in both flavor and texture. At $3.50 each, it is unlikely I will return to Sprinkles when in D.C. considering the nearby alternative. Baked & Wired, which is just a few blocks down, is better tasting and less expensive. More DC eats to come…

Sprinkles
3015 M St NW
Washington, D.C.
Sprinkles Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Reviews, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to DC Day 1: Cupcakes, Food Trucks and More

  1. Megan says:

    I love pain au chocolat! And that sticky bun looks picture perfect.

  2. Sacha says:

    I love Cowgirl Creamery cheeses, especially Mt. Tam! It’s nice to know there’s a (somewhat) closer branch. I’ve had Sprinkles cupcakes in Palo Alto and was similarly underwhelmed with the cake. Also, I love the flavors in that taco.

  3. Shannon says:

    Mmm, cowgirl creamery. That taco sounds great! And loving the looks of that sticky bun ;)

  4. I loved all of these photos on Facebook and I’ve been waiting for the accompanying blog post! I love the pumpkin flavors in that taco!

  5. That sticky bun looks ridiculously good. I haven’t been to DC in years, and it’s nice to read about all the great food there!

  6. Meesh says:

    ahhhh this trip looks awesome so far. cowgirl creamery is the best.

  7. Daisy says:

    those cupcakes are beautiful! So glad to read about some of your DC eats, can’t wait for more!

  8. I totally want to try a pumpkin taco! I’m jonesing for one after having something similar at Poe’s kitchen recently. DC is a great eating city!

  9. Joanne says:

    I think I need to find a way to recreate that taco at home! And also visit DC…I’ve actually never been!

  10. Erica says:

    Yummy eats all day long! But those cupcakes!! Om gosh-salted caramel? Im in

  11. Yum! What a fun way to spend a day!

  12. wow those cupcakes sure do have a LOT of frosting on them! but they do look pretty :)

  13. Pingback: DC: Veranda Restaurant and ACKC Cocoa Bar | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

