Macaron Sweeterie

I can satisfy my craving for just about any sweet treat at multiple places in the Boston area, be it cupcakes, chocolate chip cookies, pie, brownies, ice cream. Overall though, options for macarons are slim. Until recently, I’d found only one place that sold really good macarons, that being the bakery at Sportello. Recently, I finally found another worthy destination for macarons.

Macaron Sweeterie is a charming little shop located in a mostly residential part of Lexington. Sella Abalian opened the shop last spring, fulfilling a dream she had ever since she saw, of all things, the movie It’s Complicated.

The shop offers over a dozen flavors: pistachio, coconut, apricot, rosewater, peanut butter, salted caramel, lemon, passionfruit, chocolate and more. The flavors are distinguished with the use of vibrant coloring. Individually, they are immaculate little specimens of pastry. Assemble an assortment of flavors and you have a striking menagerie of hues.

Sella excels in her execution of the fruit flavors. If you go, the following should be on your must try list: passionfruit, pictured above, lemon, coconut, blackberry, and pistachio. The chocolate was lacking in chocolatey-ness. If you are a fan of floral tastes, which I am not, the lavender honey and rosewater are worth your while. As important as flavor is, with a macaron, achieving the proper shape and texture is key, and as any experienced baker can tell you, it is not easy. The macaron shells of these are not feather-light like other macarons I’ve had. They are moister, with a slightly chewy yet tender consistency, different, yet quite pleasant. The fillings are buttery and light against the dense, almond-y shells.

The shop also offers gelato and a standard selection of coffee drinks. The best of these combines the two. The affogato made with your choice of gelato, is stellar. We tried it with amaretto gelato which made for a divine flavor combination, the cold gelato slowly melting into the dark, rich espresso.

One final item worth noting is the macalato, another mashup that comprises two macaron shells sandwiching a scoop of gelato. Being an ice cream sandwich obsessive, I’d heard of this creation but Macaron Sweeterie’s was the first I’d ever tried. It’s a whimsical treat, but the traditional macarons with their soft shells and bold fillings are the real standouts.

Macaron Sweeterie
848 Mass. Ave
Lexington, MA
Macaron Sweeterie on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Macaron Sweeterie

  1. Meghan says:

    I love the macaron colors. They are so pretty!

  2. Have you tried the macarons at Cakeology? They look so good but I’ve never tried them (the cupcakes tempt me too much)!

  3. Joanne says:

    I’ve become quite enamored with macarons recently, after going to Laduree and seeing how truly divine they can be. Now I’m obsessed. And this is really not helping :P

  4. Daisy says:

    I love macaroons! what intriguing flavors. I have a friend who just moved to lexington, I’ll have to pass this along.

  5. Macaroon’s are sooo cute (and easy to eat). These look just perfect! I got a macaroon cookbook for the holidays and this post is a great reminder that I need to get baking!

  6. I wish this was nearer my place! I love the macarons at Sportello, too, and also LA Burdick. Oh and I definitely wanted to open up my own bakery too after watching It’s Complicated!

  7. Erica says:

    Cool spot! I want the peanut butter

  8. shannon says:

    macalato? damn. i need to get here!! love macarons. but i really should try to make them…

  9. Sacha says:

    You’re right, good macarons are really hard to find. From your photos, these look really well done with nice feet!

  10. Molly says:

    Business models should always be based on Meryl Streep vehicles like Loge’s new cast-Iron Lady panini press.

  11. Megan says:

    OMG. Why didn’t you bring me with you?! I am so putting this on my must-go list. I had no idea this place existed!!! Definitely need to try the passionfruit one. And I love affogato too.

  12. Molly Galler says:

    Now I want all of this. Immediately. Thank you for introducing me to some place new! This warrants a weekend road trip to Lexington!

  13. ehalvey says:

    Yes! I just moved here from Nashville where a fellow food blogger made divine macarons. I was wondering where to get my fix, and now I know.

Leave a Reply

