DessertTruck Works

The DessertTruck is one of a growing number of food trucks that decided to follow up their success with a brick and mortar location (other examples include Clover, Big Gay Ice Cream Truck, and Treats Truck). The truck, which opened in 2007, sells elegant, composed desserts that you might not expect from a food truck, like panna cotta and creme brulee. I still have actually never been to the DessertTruck, but I recently checked out their Lower East Side shop, DessertTruck Works, which opened in 2010.

We chose one of the plated desserts, the warm chocolate bread pudding with vanilla or bacon custard sauce. The DessertTruck owners actually beat Bobby Flay in a throwdown with this bread pudding. If you ever meet someone who claims they don’t like bread pudding, introduce them to this one. It is insanely rich and chocolatey, unlike any other bread pudding I have tasted. The actual bread component of it is hard to spot. So much so that my mom was convinced after tasting it they gave us the wrong dessert. The vanilla custard sauce, a creme anglais, light and pillowy, a lovely complement to the rich, dark bread pudding. Seriously, it would be a shame if someone were to pass on this thinking it is an ordinary bread pudding. It is not.

We sampled a few pastries as well, though the bread pudding was a hard act to follow. The chocolate croissant was very buttery, with sturdier pastry layers than I sometimes find in croissants. I actually quite liked it though, as it stood up to the rich, melted chocolate inside. Sometimes a lighter croissant dough gets a little  overpowered when paired with chocolate.

The chocolate chip cookie was of the massive, buttery mound sort, not the traditional flat disc-shaped cookie with a chewy, slightly sunken center. I absolutely loved the exterior, which was crisp all the way around. The cookie came to us straight out of the oven, so the inside was still very doughy. After a couple of bites, we let the rest cool, and I enjoyed it even more after the inside had a chance to set up.

I was happy when I learned that DessertTruck was opening a shop. I initially never got around to trying the truck because I’d rather be able to sit down with a fancier, plated dessert. I enjoyed that DessertTruck’s menu caters to both those who are in the mood to indulge in a plated dessert, as well as those who just want a small treat to go. If you do find yourself at the truck or the shop though, hope that you’re in the mood for a plated dessert–ordering the bread pudding is highly advisable.

DessertTruck Works
6 Clinton Street
New York, NY
Dessert Truck Works on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DessertTruck Works

  1. Alaina says:

    I love bread pudding! Especially of the chocolate variety. :-)

    And I have a glass of milk right next to me, waiting for that cookie!

  2. Shannon says:

    I’ll take some of that bread pudding, and a cookie, too ;)

  3. That does look like a unique bread pudding!

  4. Ranjani says:

    I don’t really like bread pudding, but it sounds like I have to try that one!

  5. Daisy says:

    i love a good chocolate croissant. and bread pudding for that matter. cute place!

  6. Michelle says:

    I love bread pudding! We may need to get Megan to try one of these to make her love bread pudding as much as I do!

  7. Megan says:

    You so need to bring me back a chocolate croissant one of these times!

    And fine, I’ll try the bread pudding. :oP

  8. Erica says:

    Wow! That cookie looks like a scone! Ive always wanted to try something featured on throwdown

  9. Taryn says:

    This looks right up my alley, and that cookie looks like it’s to die for. I love all your sweets reviews – you really hit some great places!

  10. Sacha says:

    I have seen DessertTruck on tv before and thought it was a great concept. It’s nice to see that the sweets are worth the hype!

  11. Meghan says:

    Haha I was also going to nominate Megan to try the bread pudding :) I am a huge bread pudding fan and would love to try it!

  12. Joanne says:

    Given that bread pudding is actually, for REAL, my favorite dessert…I think I need a dessert truck experience. Even if it is at their physical store instead of at the truck. AMAZING.

  13. Molly Galler says:

    That chocolate chip cookie looks like the one I got at Levain Bakery on the Upper West Side!

Leave a Reply

