All Star Pizza Bar


This week I had the privilege of taking a sneak peak at the brand new All Star Pizza Bar, the new pizza restaurant from the All Star Sandwich Bar guys Johnny and Kosta. The space is smaller than the Sandwich Bar, with picnic tables and a few high tops. A chalkboard menu is posted on one wall. Another wall features a mural with various pop-culture outer space figures  The menu is short and sweet: seven Chef’s Specials, all creative and some unusual, the sort of thing people know and love about the Sandwich Bar.

The first pie we tasted was the standard house blend cheese and red sauce pie. Though I typically prefer a thinner crust with a little more chew, I actually enjoyed this slightly sturdier crust, especially in the center where it maintained its crispness underneath the toppings. The outer crust was a little thick for my taste. Below, a look at the Chef’s Specials. The sauce and cheese are both excellent, this is a solid option when you’re in the mood for something more traditional.

I had two favorites out of all the Chef’s Specials. The first, Ms. Piggy’s Fig, with vin cotto sauce, goat cheese, dried mission figs, prosciutto, arugula, and pistachio gremolata. This one is positively delightful, with a nice mix of creamy and chewy and sweet and salty.

My other favorite, the Romesco Ratatouille with almond Romesco sauce, roasted cauliflower, brussels sprouts, asparagus and summer squash, grated parmesan and herbs. The sauce is hearty from the almonds with a little bit of heat. It tastes wonderful paired with the sweetness of the roasted vegetables.

Egg on a pizza is nothing new, but I’m positive I’ve never seen grits on a pizza. The Dukes of Hazzard is topped with creamy hominy ricotta grits, maple breakfast sausage, soft baked eggs, and pickled fresno chilis. When first reading the description, I worried the grits would be too dense and heavy on a pizza crust, but just the opposite, they are quite light, with a nice richness from the ricotta.

Chorizo and broccoli rabe. In addition to the Chef’s Specials, you can assemble your own pie from a selection of toppings, this being one example.

The Atomic Meatloaf pizza, with All Star meatloaf and Inner Beauty hot sauce, is an homage to the popular sandwich of the same name offered across the street.

Buffalo Duck Confit with marinara sauce, duck confit tossed in All Star buffalo sauce, Maytag blue cheese, and pickled celery.

The Chile Relleno with tomatillo salsa, house blend cheese, fire-roasted poblano peppers, grilled chorizo, sweet corn, cotija cheese and cilantro, is a nice mix of strong flavors with the fire roasted peppers, cheese and herbs. This one is chef Johnny’s favorite. The Red Head with roasted red bliss potatoes, shaved steak, applewood smoked bacon, caramelized onions and horseradish cream. If you’ve ever wanted steak and potatoes in pizza form, this is it. I particularly enjoyed the chunks of creamy roasted potato.

All Star Pizza Bar
1238 Cambridge Street
Cambridge, MA

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to All Star Pizza Bar

  1. Meghan says:

    I wish I had gone to this. Looks good!

  2. This was a filling night, indeed! Your photos came out great and it was nice to see you :)

  3. bridgetwickes says:

    Mmm those look delicious! I havent been to All Star sandwich bar in ages, but I do remember how good it was!! I’d love to try that meatloaf pizza!

  4. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    Um, the pizza looks AWESOME! I always feel so bad for Megan and Jeff for moving before it opened!

  5. shannon says:

    ooh, i need to get there soon ;) the fig and the romesco one sound/look soooo good!

  6. Ooooh that Romesco Ratatouille looks incredible! I’ll have to go and check it out soon!

  7. Daisy says:

    i cant believe all the crazy fun pizza toppings going on! too bad I had to miss this one!

  8. I’ve been dying for this place to open. I can’t wait to check it out!

  9. I must go try the romesco ratatouille. Another reason I miss living in Inman Square. I’ll definitely be planning a special trip over there.

  10. Ranjani says:

    I was excited to see that this place was opening! The pizza looks wonderful.

  11. Pingback: Saturday Short List: April 28 | EatingPlaces

  12. Sacha says:

    I was curious to see what All Star would do with pizza. It sounds like our taste in pizza is pretty similar (thin crust, good chew), so I’m happy to read your review. I’m a bit of a pizza purist, so no atomic meatloaf for me, but the romesco ratatouille and Ms. Piggy’s feet look great!

  13. Joanne says:

    OMG. That fig pizza looks amazing! Why couldn’t they have opened this while I was still living in boston??

  14. Meesh says:

    the chile relleno one definitely sticks out to me! OMG how were you able to walk after all that pizza? haha, I would have needed to be carried out on a stretcher

  15. I’m so jealous that you got to try all of those pizzas! I wouldn’t even know which to pick…they all sound amazing.

  16. bostonrookie says:

    I’ll definately be trying this place out. I just moved to the neighborhood!

  17. These all sound SO good! I definitely want to try the Romesco Ratatouille!

Leave a Reply

