Chefs in Shorts 2010

Friday night I attended the Chefs in Shorts event at the Seaport Boston Hotel, an outdoor barbecue benefitting the Greater Boston Food Bank. The event was held on the expansive patio of the hotel with sweeping views of the Boston skyline.

Chefs from over 35 restaurants doled out small plates of their various specialities made on (and off) the grill. Proceeds from the event were donated to the Greater Boston Food Bank.

My two favorites from the evening were both sweet, unsurprisingly. First was a grilled strawberry shortcake kabob with black truffle, mint and vanilla bean ice cream made by Brian Poe of Poe’s Kitchen at The Rattlesnake. The ice cream was brightly flavored and refreshing. It was absolutely delicious. Chef Poe was a pleasure to speak with and told me that, taking it a step further, he is going to make a grilled strawberry shortcake shortbread kabob with the same ice cream to be featured on the “Poe Unleashed” weekly specials part of the menu at Rattlesnake. I’m hoping to make it there one evening this week to try it.

A close second was Strawberry Ricotta Flatbread Pizza with Tarragon and Candied Black Pepper Pistachios made Karen Hodsdon, pastry chef at the Seaport Hotel.



Grilled shrimp on a bed of soba noodles and seaweed, from Chef Rachel Klein of Aura and Tamo.

Gazpacho (top) and sun dried tomatoes in balsamic vinegar (below) from Backyard Farms.

Grilled shrimp with sweet corn flan by Mark Sapienza of Bond Restaurant and Lounge at the Langham.

Pulled pork sandwich with pickled radishes, carrots, and cabbage from Legal Test Kitchen.

Grilled pork tenderloin tacos with cotija cheese, pickled red onions, salsa roja and grilled summer corn from Regal Beagle in Brookline.

Chicken tikka masala with naan, garlic nann, and biryani by Harjit Singh of Kashmir.

Non-alcoholic sangria.

Crispy Skin Duck Breast “Saltimbocca Style” with grape tomato and garlic jam, grilled plum pan sauce, and parsnip mash from Stanhope Grille.

The same parsnip mash and tomato jam from Stanhope Grille above with fiddlehead hash.

Grilled duck with potato salad, tomatoes and corn.

Rhubarb compote on a cheddar biscuit.

Philip R’s brought along these fantastic mini sorbet cones in mango, lemon, and raspberry.

I was thoroughly underwhelmed with this red velvet cake Sweet Tooth Bakery in South Boston. Not only was the cake tasteless, but I’m pretty sure the frosting didn’t contain either butter or cream cheese.

And lastly, the Metropolitan Club was making shaved ice topped with one of three syrups: limoncello, tamarind and rum, and watermelon vodka.

According to the event staff, 100 percent of the proceeds from ticket sales were donated to the Greater Boston Food Bank. There’s nothing I enjoy more than savoring food in the name of a worthy cause. A huge thank you to all of the chefs and restaurant staff for coming out and making this event happen.

One more thing, I have a $20 gift certificate to the Stanhope Grille that I am giving away to one lucky reader. To enter, leave a comment on this post below. I will randomly choose a winner Monday at noon EST.

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chefs in Shorts 2010

  1. Tony Naro says:

    You are making me hungry! Some great looking summer bites!

  2. Matt says:

    Based on the photo, which I know I can’t eat (much as I’d wish) the strawberry flatbread looks the better of the two. Guess I have to try both to see for myself!

  3. Megan says:

    I am happy you posted that info about Sweet Tooth Bakery. I have been considering making the journey to their bakery for a while – maybe I will save my energy for other bakeries!

  4. Jane Showalter says:

    It’s been the kind of morning that leaves me pining for my lunch sandwich, and that food photography isn’t helping! I’d love to win a shot at something more delicious.

  5. @femmmefatal says:

    Wow. I hear about this event yearly and vow to go “next year” but I completely did not realize it was THIS yummy

  6. JG says:

    “…100 percent of the proceeds from ticket sales were donated to the Greater Boston Food Bank.”

    Now that’s what I like to hear. I need to go sort food again soon. I did it for 15 years at the old place, but haven’t been to the new food bank. Guess I’ll have to start all over.

  7. Erin Wetherell says:

    Were there any yummy chefs in shorts there?

  8. Sarah says:

    I can’t believe the big winner was Rattlesnake. For dessert? I only go there for cocktails, but maybe I should give the food a second chance?

  9. Miriam says:

    Shame about the red velvet cake – but the limoncello on shaved ice sounds amazing!

  10. Erin says:

    I’m also surprised to see such a creative dish from Rattlesnake. I’ve never even looked at their menu, but I just checked it out and it looks delish.

    Looks like it was a great event. I’m off to find something to eat now, as this post made me hungry!

  11. Kate bautista says:

    Everything looks delicious!

  12. Emily Diaz says:

    My stomach just growled reading this blog!! Looks like it was a delicious event!!

  13. julia says:

    Looks like a wonderful event!

  14. Josie says:

    oh.my.greatness.
    this all looks amazing & i am so jealous i missed out on this fantastic event. considering how hot outside it is today, those mini-sobet cones, alcoholic shaved ice cups, and sangria (though you can splash some liquor in to that, please) look sooo good right about now! cant wait to load up on endless ice-cream samples Thursday!

  15. That was such a great night! I can’t wait for next year!

  16. laura says:

    Sounds like an awesome event with great food. I am looking forward to trying some of the restaurants you described. The parsnip jam with fiddlehead mash sounded especially delicious!

  17. Pingback: So Long 2010 | Free Food Boston

  18. Pingback: OMG Red Velvet | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

