Market Report: Union Square, NYC


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg

When I think back to things that characterized my childhood, the Union Square Greenmarket in New York is high on that list. I grew up only a ten minute walk from the market and I fondly remember hot Saturdays in the summertime, bringing home bags upon bags of tomatoes, corn, zucchini, peppers, berries, peaches, bread and more. And my memories are not just of the market in summertime. The Union Sq Greenmarket is open year-round, the way all markets should be (not so subtle hint to Boston markets).

As my passion for food and local agriculture grew, I began to spend more time at the market, and the summer after I graduated high school, I took a job with one of the market vendors, Hawthorne Valley Farm.


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg

Two weekends ago, my dad and I took our cameras to the Greenmarket to photograph what the market had to offer that day. This post is my ode, in photographs, to the Union Square Greenmarket. May you all one day, if not already, have access to a market this frequent and bountiful.


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg

Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg

Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg


Photo courtesy of Michael Ginsburg

This entry was posted in Farmers' Markets, New York and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Market Report: Union Square, NYC

  1. Surfin The F says:

    An ode indeed. I fondly recall you dragging me to the market in high school but it’s only now that I’m leaving the city that I realize its greatness. I’ll need to do one last massive shopping spree there to bring up to the CT wilderness

  2. Sarah says:

    Beautiful photos! Amazing variety! Is that orange cauliflower? Purple peas? (And Purple Beans!) Union Square market is one of my favorite places to visit in New York.

    I’m getting serious market-envy! Copley Square is good, but has so far to go. I don’t understand why Copley doesn’t turn into a year-round market. It goes fairly late into November, but I always feel stuck from then until EARLY MAY (way too late!) Given the short New England growing season, it makes sense, until you see the wide variety of pastas, breads, canned foods, wines, nuts, grains, etc. that that are offered in Union Square. Also, many NE farmers have greenhouses as well, and there’s always the abundance of root vegetables that store well and can be sold all winter.

    Here’s hoping we can campaign for a year-round market!

  3. Pingback: Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

