Dinner Tonight: Veggies with Lemon-Shallot Vinaigrette

I love summer vegetables because it is so easy to put together something fresh and delicious with little to no cooking and minimal prep work. For tonight’s dinner, I threw together the various contents of my fridge/kitchen counter plus a fantastic dressing that my roommate made. The salad contained:

Brown lentils
Tomato
Cucumber
Corn
Goat cheese
Lemon-shallot dressing:

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 lemons)
  • 1/4 cup minced shallots (1 large)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt

This salad quite literally came together in two minutes. The lentils I cooked yesterday. I also made the corn yesterday, boiling the ears and slicing off the kernels. I chopped the tomato and cucumber, added a little bit of goat cheese and the dressing, and tossed. I often make salads with corn and beans, and I also make salads with tomato and cucumber. I decided to combine the two and the result was spectacular. Lots of different flavors and textures, the cheese and dressing really tying the dish together. And the best part of all, you don’t need to follow any strict measurements or quantities. The basic recipe is bean/legume, fresh vegetables, cheese (optional), and dressing. From there you can make it into whatever you want, and the possibilities are endless.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner Tonight: Veggies with Lemon-Shallot Vinaigrette

  1. Melissa says:

    This salad looks delicious! I like making my own dressings, I will have to try this lemon shallot one

Leave a Reply

