Mix Bakery

Monday night was my cousin Liz’s birthday celebration, and I was given the highly important task of selecting the cupcakes for the occasion. Luckily, having a sweet tooth runs in our family, so Liz shares a similar love of dessert. Needless to say, I was pretty excited about my task and I wanted to choose cupcakes that would really impress Liz and her guests. There are several cupcakes in Boston that I like, but many of them come from shops that I can go to any day. For this occasion, I decided to go with Mix Bakery, a special order business that does not yet have a stand alone shop.

Note: In the frenzied cupcake consumption, my camera failed to capture the cupcakes in all their glory. This photo was provided by Kelly.

I learned of Mix Bakery while researching bakers for CupcakeCamp. Kelly Paszamant, the baker behind Mix, was one of the first bakers to sign on to the event. She brought with her to CupcakeCamp S’mores cupcakes and vanilla-vanilla cupcakes. The s’mores cake was delectable and the simple vanilla-vanilla was moist and buttery.


CupcakeCamp Boston 2010

For Liz’s birthday, I knew I wanted to get the s’mores as well as minis in an assortment of flavors. We ordered carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, red velvet with cream cheese frosting, banana cake, and vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream and chocolate buttercream.

The s’mores cupcake was even better than I remembered. A buttery graham cracker crust beneath a rich, very chocolatey cake. I loved the fluff frosting, as it had the light airiness of marshmallow mixed with a smooth, sweet buttercream frosting. Due to poor lighting in the restaurant and rapid cupcake consumption, I wasn’t able to get a shot of the red velvet, my second favorite behind the s’more. The cream cheese frosting on both the red velvet and carrot cake was fantastic. It had the tangy flavor of cream cheese but was impossibly light, not thick and dense. We ordered the carrot cake “naked,” meaning without nuts and raisins. Kelly is happy to tailor her creations to your specifications. The carrot cake was moist but not greasy, like so many carrot cakes I’ve had, and it had just the right amount of spices without being overpowering.

I cannot recommend Mix Bakery highly enough. The s’mores cupcake is quite honestly one of the best cupcakes I have ever had and it really takes the usually simple cupcake to a whole new level. I do hope that Kelly opens up a shop soon. Her baking has a taste and quality that would be very much welcome in the Boston dessert scene. Until then, I will use any birthday or celebration as an excuse to order from her.


This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mix Bakery

  1. Pingback: So Long 2010 | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

