Dad’s Gazpacho

Everyone has those few dishes that, in their opinion, only their mom, dad, grandmother or other loved one makes well. For me, one of those dishes is gazpacho. Of the dozens I have tried, none comes close to the gazpacho that my dad makes. The tomatoes require a little bit of prep work, but once that is over, all it takes is a minute in the food processor.

He first puts a green pepper and half of a white onion in the food processor. After that come the tomatoes, which he blanches, peels, and seeds. This past time, we had some yellow tomatoes on hand, so he threw a few of those in as well. You add the tomatoes, and cucumber, along with a clove of garlic, and blend. When it is almost to your desired consistency, add the seasonings: salt, pepper, 1/4 cup olive oil, and 1/3 cup white wine vinegar. Blend to combine, and it’s done!

As is the case with my favorite recipes, this one is completely adaptable to your preferences. You can make it chunkier, spicier, or add in another vegetable. For me, it is perfect just like this. There are many good gazpachos out there. But in this foodie’s opinion, none comes close to the one my dad makes.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad’s Gazpacho

  1. Emily says:

    How funny given your Jewish heritage that your poppa’s signature recipe is Gazpacho. I was rooting for Latkes. 🙂 🙂

    • Elizabeth says:

      Oh don’t you worry Em-dog, there will be plenty Jewish recipes coming out of the woodworks in the next few months. Although funnily enough, the Rosh Hashanah cake I’m posing about next week comes from my mom.

      I miss you I want us to go apple picking!!

Leave a Reply

