Kickass Cupcakes

In all of my tweeting about Kickass Cupcakes‘ many tastings and events, I realized that I had never done a post about their standard everyday cupcakes. I desperately wanted to remedy this, as Kickass is one of my favorite cupcake shops in the Boston area. In addition to making what I consider high-quality, good-tasting cupcakes, they do a lot of things to support and engage with the Davis Square and greater Boston area.

You see, Kickass Cupcakes holds monthly Cocktail Cupcake Happy Hours. I am pretty obsessed with them. One evening every month, Kickass offers free mini cupcakes in flavors inspired by cocktails. Obviously, being FreeFoodBoston, I am going to be a fan of a business that offers something for free. But I admire that they regularly invite the public to come sample their product free of charge as a way of saying thank you to existing customers and to allow new customers to see what they are all about. One of those Happy Hours a little over a year ago was how I discovered how much I like Kickass.

Two summers ago, my mom was up visiting for a weekend. I had read about all the great places in Davis Square, particularly a certain cupcake shop. We went and tried out the Lucky cupcake,  lemon cake with white chocolate buttercream and candied ginger. I don’t remember why, but at the time, neither of us enjoyed it (oddly enough, I now like it very much). Fast forward to a year later. Last summer, I saw online that Kickass was offering free mini cocktail-inspired cupcakes at the store. Having not been back since my first visit, and not being one to turn down free cupcakes, I gladly went to give Kickass another shot. The cupcakes they had were delicious and totally changed my mind about the store. In the past year, I have become a regular at Kickass, trying both their fun mini cocktail cupcakes each month, as well as most of their standard and special flavors like the Bananarama, Peach Melba, Lemon, The Somerville Sensation (made with Nutella), Cinnamon Chai Pecan Sticky, and more.

Until this past weekend, I had never tried the simple vanilla cupcake with vanilla buttercream. Luckily, I met up with Sara Ross, owner and brains behind Kickass at the Dessert Showcase last weekend and she graciously sent me home with some of their standard flavors. The vanilla-vanilla was fantastic. I love the texture of their vanilla cake, buttery and tender, and the frosting was particularly outstanding.

For those who want something slightly different, the Super Chocolate, above, is a chocolate brownie cupcake with ganache and chocolate shavings. The chocolate buttercream frosting, pictured in the first and third photographs, is quite dark and intense. It goes nicely with the vanilla cake, but when paired with the chocolate cupcake, is a little too intense for me.

The Chocolate Oink- chocolate cupcake, maple buttercream, whipped cream filling and candied bacon.

For

I am in love with the Caramel Apple, a limited edition seasonal flavor. An apple cake with large chunks of apple baked inside, vanilla buttercream, and topped with caramel sauce. The cake itself is delicious and I would happily eat it on its own, but I would also happily eat it with smooth buttercream and sticky caramel.

Kickass definitely makes some of the best cupcakes in Boston. They do the standards well, in addition to the fun and inventive flavors. If you have never tried them, I urge you to do so. Unlike most places, you can try out Kickass for free one day each month. You have nothing to lose and I doubt you will be disappointed.

Kickass Cupcakes
378 Highland Avenue
Somerville, MA
Kickass Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kickass Cupcakes

  1. Emily says:

    I miss Kick-Ass! They were my first foray into the wide world of gourmet cupcakes. And now I realize that cupcakes are EVERYWHERE.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’ve had a couple great (and very delicious) experiences with Kickass Cupcakes. My first was a few years ago – they gave out free cupcakes at the Somerville Thursday Night outdoor movie screenings that happen every summer. Nothing like Twilight and a chocolate cupcake! The second was a few weeks ago, when they made dozens of mini-cupcakes as a welcome for Tufts students who had just returned to the area. Although I’m far from being a student, they were generous with their end-of-day leftovers! I’m definitely coming back for more!!! For those listening, I hope they do something with Lemon Curd…

  3. Linda says:

    I am heading to Kickass to load up on some serious cupcakes. Can’t wait to taste the Caramel Apple.

  4. Mat says:

    I hope you’ll bring some back to New York with you for sampling.

  5. Carole says:

    These sound great! I don’t know when I will get to Boston next (I only get as far as changing busses to So. Sta. – do they deliver?) so I may have to commission you to bring some down next time you are in NYC!

  6. Daisy says:

    I have heard so much about them and even walked and driven by a few times. These pictures are incredible. I’ve got to get to the cupcake cocktail!

  7. Pingback: Great Pumpkin Cupcake from Kickass Cupcakes | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

