Chocolate Chip Cookies – Batch 1, Thin and Chewy

I have an obsession with chocolate chip cookies. Yes, I like to eat them, but possibly even more than that, I like to bake them. It’s something about their simplicity, yet the endless variation from one recipe to the next. The differences in the final product can be so vast. And I am motivated, like so many bakers, to keep making them in search of that elusive perfect cookie. I rarely succeed in making it, and it is that search that keeps me baking, one recipe at a time. I seldom follow a recipe exactly, but I like to use one as a guide. Yesterday, I looked around in my archives and decided to base my recipe around this one from Martha Stewart. Some day I will make the famous David Leite recipe from the NY Times, but until then, I will continue to reject it on the basis that it requires bread flour and cake flour.

I had a Ghiradelli 60% bar courtesy of my roommate Julie, which I chopped up into small chunks.

I creamed the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar.

I forgot to photograph the few steps that followed, aka all of the remaining ingredients, but they included, adding one egg and one teaspoon vanilla. This was followed by the dry ingredients: flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and finally, the chocolate chunks.

I dropped small spoonfuls onto a baking sheet and baked them at 350 for about seven minutes.

Another thing I like about making chocolate chip cookies is that I feel like I learn something new every time. Or sometimes it’s just that I reaffirm something I may have already suspected. For instance, the type of chocolate I like. It turns out, I don’t like very dark chocolate in my cookies. Flour Bakery makes one with bittersweet chocolate that is definitely too dark for me. Even the 60% I used in this recipe was still too dark.

I think the 60% would work nicely in this cookie if I added some dried cranberries for additional sweetness. But if I’m using chocolate chips alone, I prefer semi-sweet. And in terms of bang for your buck, Trader Joe’s are the best-tasting inexpensive chips I have found.

Batch one came out a little underdone for my tastes. They have a high butter to flour ratio, and so they ended up being fairly thin. In terms of my cookie preferences, I like them either thin and crispy or thick and chewy. I am not so much a fan of thin and chewy, but I know countless people who are. So for you thin and chewy fans out there, this recipe is for you.

Stay tuned for batch number two, the Quest for a Crispy Cookie.

Chocolate Chip Cookies, Batch 1

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1  cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 4 ounce bar, Ghiradelli chocolate 60%, chopped
  • 1) In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla.
  • 2) Mix in flour, salt, soda, and powder; fold in chocolate chunks.
  • 3) Scoop dough into balls about one inch in diameter. Bake at 350 degrees for about 8 minutes. Cool and enjoy.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookies – Batch 1, Thin and Chewy

  1. Dan says:

    Nice cookies!

  2. R Hookup says:

    I have a sudden hankering for cookies a la mode.

  3. Sarah says:

    Try Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book (1963 edition) for thin and crispy.

  4. Tili S. says:

    I just started college and I miss baking. I can get a kitchen, but I have to reserve it ahead of time, plus buy *all* the ingredients. At some point I’ll plan far enough ahead to do it, but right now I’ll just live vicariously through this blog.

  5. Josie says:

    i am also so not a fan of thin and chewy cookies. if they’re gonna be thin, i want them light and crispy :d btw i just made my very own batch of pumpkin cookies from scratch and they are huuuge fatties. like, bubbling round huge. moist throughout, so not too chewy, but pretty good for my first attempt. fyi im obsessed with pumpkin, can we make a trip to Sweet soon for the 2 pumpkin flavors?! kthanks 🙂 haha

  6. Surekha says:

    Hey E, nice cookies. Everytime I make them, I tend to eat like 3 and for a batch of 12 6 oz cookies, that’s a lot. I’ll have to try this thin guys out – perhaps in an ice cream sandwich 🙂

  7. David Leite says:

    When you do get around to making the chocolate chip cookies I wrote about for the New York Times, let me know. I think you’ll see the benefit of the different flours.

Leave a Reply

