Cider Donuts

Apple cider donuts are quite possible my favorite fall treat. I am very particular about them though. They can’t be just any cider donut.  They must be purchased and consumed (well, at least the first few) at a farm, where they have come directly out of the fryer and drenched in a mixture of cinnamon and granulated sugar (not powdered sugar). I am thrilled that I can find cider donuts at the Copley Square farmers’ market and occasionally the Charles Square market to satisfy a mid-week craving. But nothing compares to a bag of piping hot donuts enjoyed outside on a wooden picnic table, with a cup of hot, or cold, cider, to complete a morning spent apple picking.

Earlier in the summer, I mentioned Russell Orchards and the donut ice cream that I concocted a year ago and now regularly get whenever I visit. They are not the best donuts by themselves though. The best donuts I have found so far, the ones in these photos, come from Cider Hill Farm in Amesbury. These pictures were taken last year on my first visit to Cider Hill where we went for my birthday.

Now I am asking for your assistance. I am going picking this weekend and I am trying to decide whether to return to Cider Hill (primarily for the donuts), or try somewhere new. I read very positive reviews of Brooksby Farm in Peabody. Some people raved about the donuts, while one reviewer specifically said they are not as good as Cider Hill’s. Years ago, I visited a farm that had a fantastically large farm store, complete with bakery and deli, large bins of apples out front, and on that particular day, the volunteer firefighters were frying up the donuts. I cannot for the life of me remember which farm that was, so if anyone has an idea, I’d love to hear it.

Where in MA have you found excellent cider donuts? Where is your favorite place to go picking? I will use your suggestions to decide where to go picking (and donut-ing) this weekend and I will report back with a full review of the donuts, apples, and any other treats we find.

This entry was posted in Farms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cider Donuts

  1. dgrubs says:

    Honeypot in Stow is really popular

  2. Josie says:

    ooh i went apple picking at Brooksby Farm last year! tbh, i only went because it was a last minute trip and Peabody is so close to my house, but it was really unexpectedly fun and had great fruit/veggie supply. that was also the first time i ever had a cider donut, and i loved it. they aren’t sugar coated like most other places’ cider donuts, so they’re less sweet which i like (sugar coated anything kind of kills the “fresh” factor in my opinion). im pretty sure they make them fresh/right in front of you, so that’s always a plus.

    wherever you end up going i hope you find some swell treats! and i just tweeted you, but i was planning to visit Russel Orchards next weekend since i heard they had some of the best cider donuts around, but now im contemplating going to Cider Hill instead!

  3. Victoria says:

    If you feel like taking a 2 hour drive this weekend. Lenox, MA is having it’s annual Apple Squeeze in town. So you can get a selection of cider donuts all within a 1/4 mile radius. If you want to pick your own, Bartlett’s and Hilltop orchards are within a 20 minute drive of the Apple Squeeze. Hilltop also is a Winery and sells a few different wines and my favorite Hard Cider, Johnny Mash, that’s only available in Berkshire County!!

  4. Amy says:

    Meadowledge Farm in NH is amazing http://www.meadowledgefarm.com/

  5. Michael says:

    I remember that large farm stand but can’t remember its name either. I do remember that it was west of Waltham and past US 495. They had fresh cider for a nickel a cup and it was dispensed from a barrel front. You could even get some with out depositing a nickel.

Leave a Reply

