Honeypot Hill Orchard

After lunch at Verrill Farm, we decided to continue west on 117 towards Stow, MA. When you reach Stow on 117, you come to a fun intersection where you can choose any of three apple orchards. Shelburne Farm, Honeypot Hill Orchard, and Carver Hill Orchard are all within a few minutes of 117. My roommates had gone to Honeypot Hill Orchard the previous weekend and brought me back some doughnuts that weren’t too shabby. I decided I wanted to try them for myself hot out of the frier.

Oh. We also picked a few apples. But my primary concern was the doughnuts. Honeypot was busier than I expected for a Friday afternoon. The farm has a slightly odd layout. You pull off to the left to park your car. Then you go back across the road to the farm store to purchase a bag. Picking at Honeypot is not cheap, by the way. You then go further down the road until you come to the trees on the right. I understand it is completely a function of the location, but it just is not as open and scenic as Cider Hill Farm.

Back in the farm store, we stood on line at the registers to get doughnuts. A farm employee comes to the line with a crate full of paper sacks. Each contains a half dozen doughnuts. You tell her how many 1/2 dozens you want and she hands them to you. While I certainly understand how this method simplifies the process on their end, it is not as enjoyable for the customer. There is something special about walking into a store, smelling the dense, sweet aroma of frying doughnuts and seeing them laid out before you. The line at Cider Hill was probably three times as long, but it is more fun, because you can watch the doughnuts being made while you wait and when it is your turn, you fill a bag with however many doughnuts you like. It just wasn’t as exciting to stand on line and be handed a pre-filled bag.

The Honeypot doughnuts had a nice crispy fried outside, crunchy with a coating of cinnamon and sugar. I was not in love with the interior though. You can sort of tell from the picture that the inside tended towards greasy, not fluffy and cakey like Cider Hill donuts. The dough inside clumped a little when you bit into it. It was by no means unpleasant and it certainly satisfied my craving for a cider doughnut.

On our way back east, we decided to stop at Walden Pond. I’d never been in the fall, and if you haven’t been either, I’d consider going soon. If you need more convincing, take a look at the pictures below.

d

d

d

 

 

 

Honeypot Hill Orchard
144 Sudbury Road
Stow, MA

This entry was posted in Boston, Farms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Honeypot Hill Orchard

  1. Daisy says:

    Well this looks like the picture perfect fall day! Cider Hill over Honeypot it is (good to know!)

    My camera is a Canon Powershot (SD 1300). I bought it @ Best Buy – no frills point & shoot. I was using the flash on my pictures, last night it just worked better than the natural light even though the light was decent. The powershot has a nice macro function too!

  2. Pingback: Brooksby Farm | Free Food Boston

  3. Joshua says:

    I love Honey Pot Hill Orchards! Great fresh apples and abundant.

    http://www.localorchards.com/Orchard/Details?OrchardId=12#.UBSXY7Se7EU

  4. L says:

    Today found the Honey Pot Hill wasn’t family friendly. Have been there before but today was a very bad experience. 1/ Four boys throwing apples at people almost hitting my husband and grand daughter. Had to yell at them several times. Finally a man working at the orchard talked to them. Not that did any good. They tossed apples at the trees after trying to get all the other apples fall like a rain fall. Why weren’t they told to leave. Then when it was time for us to leave. My grand daughter had picked up four apples that had falling out of my bag. She said she would carry them to help me. She felt important and proud. But as we were leaving the women marking and x on the bags took the apples that were in my grand daughter hands and told her she couldn’t have them. I told the women they fell out of my bag. That she was just feeling important helping. The women said nope your bag has enough. I bought the large bag which is most expensive. My grand daughter started to fill up and was embarrassed. She is eight. She was hurt that she had the apples taken from her. And felt bad she wasn’t helping me. That personally I feel is not a friendly behavior or mature thing to do to and eight year old. Four apples please. They fell out of my bag. But if the women looked in the back packs and if they looked in the strollers that passed me . She would of clearly see dishonest people walking out with more than what could fit in the bag. Have lost respect with Honey Pot Hill Apple Orchard.

Leave a Reply

