Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

These little cake sandwiches might be the most delicious pastry I have had the pleasure of consuming recently. They are pumpkin whoopie pies, courtesy of Peter Davis, the talented chef at Henrietta’s Table, located inside the Charles Hotel. Each pie consists of two pumpkin cake-cookies, sturdy enough to make a sandwich while still tender and cakey. They have a prominent pumpkin flavor, which is thankfully not overshadowed by the spices that typically accompany it. Many times have I tried a pumpkin pastry and it ends up tasting of only cinnamon and nutmeg.

The cinnamon flavor comes in the filling, where it is mixed into a lightly-sweetened whipped cream. It has a beautifully smooth texture and consistency. The cream is so thick that, until I saw the recipe, I thought it was a buttercream. But it is far superior to a buttercream, whose heavier texture might risk weighing down the cake.

Each pie is garnished with candied pumpkin seeds, which provide an aesthetically pleasing little pop of color and a satisfying crunch on top. The whoopie pies rotate on and off the menu, so if you are intent on getting one, check with Henrietta’s beforehand. The pies are always a menu option if you are holding a special event at the hotel, and they are so good, they almost warrant an event just to enjoy them. Many thanks to Chef Peter Davis of Henrietta’s Table and Elizabeth Stefan at the Charles Hotel.

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  1. Linda says:

    These pumpkin whoopie pies are a must next time I’m in Cambridge.

  2. Sarah says:

    I had the pleasure of eating one, and they are irresistable! I love them! They should be a permanent fall fixture on the HT menu.

  3. Megan says:

    I love these whoopie pies. I have the recipe and I made them last year around this time. The filling is so much better than that too-sweet frosting filling most other whoopie pie recipes use. And I actually filled half of mine with whipped ganache too… so I had chocolate and regular pumpkin whoopie pies. I like the pepitas on top — I haven’t done that.

  4. Hannah says:

    I want, I want!!! (Would it be worth a cheat on a gluten-free diet?)

  5. Pingback: Henrietta’s Table | Free Food Boston

  6. Pingback: So Long 2010 | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

