Clover, The Egg and Eggplant Sandwich

Whenever I come back to a place I have been previously, I find myself torn between getting what I have ordered before and that I know I like, and trying something new. Especially if that something new contains an ingredient that I have never been fond of. The egg and eggplant sandwich at Clover contains deep-fried eggplant, hummus, tahini, cucumber, tomato, and hard-boiled egg. Ever since I was little, I have had a strong aversion to eggs. It has only been in the past few years, beginning with when I lived in Italy, that I have started to come around to eggs-in certain forms. Scrambled I can do if they are not too runny. Sunnyside up-no. Omelette- yes. Hard-boiled-nooo. Clearly it’s something about the yolk and the white being separated that puts me off.

But apparently if they are accompanied by other flavorful ingredients, I don’t mind them. Case in point, the egg and eggplant sandwich. I was skeptical because of the egg but I ended up loving it. I actually liked that the egg made the sandwich somewhat lighter than the chickpea fritter. Since the egg is fairly mild, you primarily taste the tahini, hummus and vegetables. Quite delicious actually. I definitely plan to order it on future trips to Clover. I daresay it might be my new favorite.

Dave ordered my tried and true sandwich, the chickpea fritter. I love the pickled carrot and cabbage on top. But tasting it alongside the egg and eggplant made the chickpea fritters seem much heavier and more dense. Which is not a bad thing at all. It is good to know now that if you are ravenous, the chickpea fritter sandwich is the best bang for your buck. It will fill you up no problem. But for something a tad lighter, when you are not really looking for the stick-to-your-ribs feeling, the egg and eggplant is delightful.

Clover on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clover, The Egg and Eggplant Sandwich

  1. Megan says:

    I think I’ve had the chickpea fritter. So good! And so are the fries. I’ve only been to the truck and can’t wait to check out the new Harvard Square spot.

  2. k says:

    That eggplant sandwich is called a Sabich 🙂 I tried the Clover one, but there’s nothing like an authentic Israeli Sabich.

Leave a Reply

