Wilson Farm

Once again, it is doughnut time. And today, the doughnuts are brought to you by Wilson Farm in Lexington, MA. About a week ago, I received a tweet from @WilsonFarmChef, also known as chef Todd, following my post about Verrill Farm inviting me to check out Wilson Farm. I knew I had never been but the name sounded familiar. I thought it might be one of the many small side of the road farms I had passed on Route 117 or another road. But when we arrived at the farm last Saturday, I found I was quite mistaken.

Wilson Farm is no small, side of the road farm. It is huge! They grow over 100 different crops on 33 acres. It is also remarkably close to the city. Once we got onto Route 2 going west, I practically blinked and we were there. Afterwards, I looked it up on Google Maps and found that it is only 6 miles from Cambridge. If I were in the mood for a very long walk, I could walk there from my house in under 2 hours! I got quite a kick out of that. You can also take an MBTA bus to get there, which may garner Wilson Farm the title of most accessible farm (not counting Allandale Farm in Brookline).

When we pulled into the parking lot, in addition to the vast expanse of land, we were greeted by a very big and very busy farm store. I have said this many times before, I love farm stores. I love the mix of farm-grown produce, eggs and dairy, breads and pastries made in-house, and locally made jams, sauces and more. And on top of that, Wilson offers an extensive selection of prepared foods, thanks to chef Todd. These include fresh pasta, sauces, salads, quiche, soup, and full meals. I’ll return to those in a minute.

Beginning outside, there is a beautiful display of pumpkins and several varieties of squash. Last weekend they had several activities for children including pumpkin carving and cookie decorating.


Underneath the tent, before you enter the store, you find even more produce and some baked goods. There were also two staff members sampling a few items: pureed spiced buttercup squash, pesto and wholegrain bread, and a soft cheese prepared two different ways: marinated with sun-dried tomatoes, and topped with honey and marcona almonds.

Inside there is more produce, both locally grown and distantly grown. There is a freezer full of local ice cream like Giovanna Gelato made in Newton, and pies. There is a meat and fish section, a cheese section, a bakery section, a refrigerator full of fresh pastas and sauces, and much more. I love fresh pasta, especially ravioli. Wilson’s has a few different varieties. We ended up purchasing the pumpkin and butternut squash ravioli and had it for dinner that night. I didn’t snap any pictures, but the ravioli were large and pillowy. The filling surprisingly was not full of cinnamon and nutmeg and nutmeg as pumpkin things so often are. It was very savory for a squash ravioli and had minced onion in the filling which lent a strong onion-y flavor. I bought farm-grown orange cauliflower and roasted it in olive oil and salt to have along with the ravioli. Simple roasted cauliflower is one of the easiest and most delicious dishes to make. The fresher the cauliflower, the better it is. The orange color made for a nice presentation too.

And of course my favorite, the doughnuts. The entire operation took place just outside the tent. The doughnuts are fried, drenched in cinnamon-sugar, and then placed on a tray where they are promptly scooped up by customers waiting in line.

And for those who would rather not wait on line, there are boxes upon boxes just waiting to be purchased and consumed.

I chose to wait on line and get my doughnuts straight from the fryer.

Wilson Farm’s donuts are smaller and more compact than many of the doughnuts I have had, which gave them a slightly cuter appearance overall. They were also thicker from the inside out to the edge. They had a satisfyingly crispy outer crust, made even crunchier by the cinnamon-sugar coating–my favorite.

The one downside was that, because of its wider “radius” I’ll call it, the distance from the inner edge to the outer edge, there was proportionally more cakey inside and less crispy fried outside. I always hope for more crispy outside, it being my favorite part.

But darn this doughnut was photogenic.

Wilson Farm
10 Pleasant Street
Lexington, MA

This entry was posted in Boston, Farms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wilson Farm

  1. Jaimee says:

    I’m so jealous of your cider donuts!! They look absolutely delicious!!

  2. Melissa says:

    Haha that doughnut sure is photogenic! It looks delicious!

  3. Sarah says:

    These look delicious. And call me crazy, but I like small donuts. It makes me feel better about eating two.

  4. Megan says:

    I love cider doughnuts. The ones I make myself are now my favorite because I realized how easy it is… and I can make doughnut holes to get plenty of the crispy outside! I liked the ones at Wilson Farm but thought they had just a touch too much ginger.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Interesting about the ginger!! I wrote this post several days after eating them, but I definitely remember thinking something about the flavor and the spices tasting unusual. I don’t remember distinctly ginger, but now I’m curious. And I love your logic with the doughnut holes -> more crispy outside 🙂

  5. Pingback: Wilson Farm Girls’ Night Out | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

