Top of the Hub

Last week, I spent an evening at Top of the Hub for a celebration with my old co-workers. I had never been to Top of the Hub, nor had it really been on my radar. I know that they are mostly known for their fantastic views and I usually choose restaurants based on food, but TOTH is definitely the place to go for a celebration.

The views really are spectacular, even on a foggy and overcast night, as it was when we went. The entire space is swanky but elegant. The low lighting allows you to fully appreciate the views outside.

While we ate and drink, we also got to enjoy the music of a wonderful jazz trio.


The drinks we had were excellent. I was debating between an organic cucumber and vodka cocktail and the strawberry basil lemonade. The waitress recommended the strawberry, which had New Amsterdam gin, fresh basil, strawberry puree, fresh squeezed lemon. It was a bit sweet for my taste, which is saying a lot as I prefer my cocktails on the sweeter side. But this one was sweet even for me. My friend Susan ordered the pomegranate mojito with herb vodka, fresh mint, lemon, and pomegranate juice, which was less cloying than mine.

Ali had wanted the pumpkin spice martini, but unfortunately they were out. She ordered the cider martini instead, as did Rebecca. It contained apple cider, rum and a maraschino cherry. Ali and I agreed that it was a bit too strong and that the alcohol overpowered the cider.

Rob ordered the Mango Mojito with Absolut Mango, fresh mint, fresh squeezed orange juice, gingerale. I actually preferred this one to my own drink, as it had a nice refreshing mango flavor without being so sweet. If I were to go again, I would probably order the mango mojito.

Along with our drinks we ordered some savory food to start. The Artisan Double Cream Brie and Walnuts Baked with Dried Fruit Compote and an Aged Fig Sauce came on a long thin slice of raisin cracker bread. Not being a fan of brie, I enjoyed the cracker with fruit compote and walnuts. The cracker was delicious, both crispy and chewy.

Being a pizza snob due to my roots, I keep my pizza expectations low, but the Margherita Flatbread with Fresh Tomatoes, Basil, and Mozzarella was actually delicious. The crust was nicely tender and chewy and it was topped thick, juicy slices of fresh tomato and a generous amount of fresh basil.

The desserts were fun, but not amazing. My favorite part of the Valrhona Warm Chocolate Cake with Blackberry Ice Cream and Burgundy Sauce was actually the ice cream and the meringue that it sat atop. It had a lovely deep blackberry flavor and was not overly sweet.

The cake in the Date Pudding Cake with Spicy Carrot Coulis, Sticky Toffee Sauce, and Vanilla Ice Cream was drier than I was expecting considering it was a pudding cake.

Our final dessert was the plate of Freshly Baked Cookies  with Chantilly Cream.

I was not thrilled with the flavor of either the chocolate chip or the oatmeal raisin cookies. But I loved the peanut butter and the pistachio cookie, which both had a rich flavor and a soft, chewy texture.

Top of the Hub is definitely a destination for special occasions. The atmosphere, enhanced by the live music, stunning views, and decor could not be nicer. Service was pleasant as well. I don’t know that I will go for dinner any time soon, but I certainly plan to return for appetizers, desserts, and drinks. And I could definitely be enticed to try their brunch with the added perk of seeing the views during the daytime.

Top of the Hub
800 Boylston Street
Boston, MA
Top of the Hub on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top of the Hub

  1. I love Top of the Hub for drinks and apps. I’m not too impressed with their dinner, but I would def plan to check out their brunch too!

  2. Daisy says:

    I haven’t been to top of the hub in ages! this makes me want to return….

    what a beautiful pistacio green color in that cookie!

Leave a Reply

