Wilson Farm Girls’ Night Out

I go to farms all the time, but it is rare that I get to spend time on a farm at night. Last Friday, I got to do just that at Wilson Farm‘s Girls’ Night Out. I was not sure what to expect when Chef Todd told me about the event, other than that there would be a lot of people, and even more food.

When Alicia, Michelle and I arrived on Friday evening, we were delighted to see the farm store adorned with strings of white lights and looking quite ready for the holidays. We stepped inside to see the store similarly done up, along with crowds upon crowds of people.

Everyone was clamoring to get a taste of what chef Todd was whipping up, and every time you looked back, it was something different. When we first arrived, he was working on a roasted red pepper, kalamata olive and feta bruschetta.

There were several stations around the entire store, each serving several dishes. A few of my favorites:

A sweet potato casserole.

Sweet potato pancakes with creme fraiche and caviar.

Sweet potato biscuits with roast pork and cranberry sauce. (Noticing a trend?)

Fruit preserves, chopped hazelnuts and manchego on sliced baguette.

It did not take us very long to make our way to the back of the store where it appeared as though they were sampling every dessert they sold. There were 20 or more kinds of mini tartlettes, as well as not-so-mini cannoli and eclairs. My favorites were the berry tart and the tiramisu tart.

Wilson Farm also took this opportunity to showcase the work of their highly skilled pastry chefs and cake decorators. They had these very impressive and whimsical-looking cakes on display that they later sliced up and served. They had various buche de noel that they served as well. Because outside appearance is the top priority in a buche de noel, I have always expected that the quality of the cake and frosting would be lackluster. So I was surprised to find that my favorite dessert of the evening was the chocolate buche de noel, with a moist chocolate cake, a dense fudge-like filling, and a light and sugary chocolate frosting.

I was surprised to see just how many people came out for Girls’ Night Out, and it really helped to illustrate what a good job Wilson Farm has done in building a customer base and establishing customer loyalty. My sincere thanks to Chef Todd for inviting me and to Wilson Farm for putting on such a lovely show of customer appreciation.

This entry was posted in Boston, Events, Farms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wilson Farm Girls’ Night Out

  1. Megan says:

    If I hadn’t been away last week, I would have gone to this. It looks like it was a great time and all the food looks incredible. I love all the local, seasonal dishes, and the cakes look spectacular.

    (I have a buche de noel recipe on my site if you’re interested!)

  2. Looked like a fun party 🙂 PS let me know next time you head to NYC!

  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black says:

    Just found your blog- I love when I stumble on local bloggers.

  4. Michelle says:

    Friday night was a lot of fun…I’m still thinking about all of those pastries we indulged in!

  5. Lisa says:

    Looks like a great time! And the cake looks so good! ; )

Leave a Reply

