Holiday Entertaining with Whole Foods

Last night I was very excited to attend the Affordable Holiday Entertaining at the Whole Foods on River Street in Cambridge. I was looking forward to sampling the vast array of Whole Foods’ holiday offerings, and looking forward to seeing many Boston bloggers, some whom I was already friends with and some whom I met for the first time. I met up with Meghan, Kathy and Daisy in chilly Central Square where Megan kindly scooped us up on her way over to the store.

We gathered in the Whole Foods community room alongside the cafe, which is a great space for small events. The offerings for the evening fit into four categories: cheese, beverages, hors d’oeuvres, and dessert. A Whole Foods team member from the cheese department started off the evening by giving us a little cheese instructional. In addition to a cheese platter, there were three different preparations of goat cheese: rounds fried in panko and sage, logs rolled in chopped nuts, and spreads made by mixing the goat cheese with various add-ins.

One of the best was the goat cheese mixed with roasted sun-dried tomato and basil. I also loved the nut-encrusted goat cheese on a cracker drizzled with honey.

I did not partake in the hors d’oeuvres which were mostly meat, but they all looked delicious, especially the prosciutto and pea arancini and chicken satay.

They wine and beer team had prosecco and a few wines for us to try. My favorite though was definitely the Santa’s Beered ale, which was flavorful but not too heavy.

Unsurprisingly, I found myself near the dessert table for most of the night. Members of the bakery team had an array of mini pastries for us to try, as well as mini cupcakes. My favorites were without a doubt the cheesecakes, of which there were four kinds: plain, key lime, pumpkin, and chocolate.

I’d like to express my own personal gratitude to Dennis and Aelcio of the bakery team last night for encouraging me in my pursuit to try every single dessert.

Whole Foods has so many options for your entertaining needs, whether you plan to make it all on your own, or if you are in a pinch need to buy something already prepared. I know I will be hitting them up for cheeses and cheese platters. Many thanks to David, Heather, and the Whole Foods team for a lovely evening. Looking forward to doing it again soon!

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Holiday Entertaining with Whole Foods

  1. kathy says:

    So much fun! I was also obsessed with that beer! i brought some home! It was delicious!

  2. I really wanted to go to this event but my work scheduled a party at the same time last minute. Sounds fantastic. I love the tips about goat cheese… I ❤ goat cheese 😉

  3. Emily says:

    Great recap and fun meeting you! I was pretty obsessed with the dessert table, too… and those amazing chips at the goat cheese table.

  4. Di says:

    Those cheeses and cupcakes look so good!

  5. Michelle says:

    It sounds like it was a great event!

  6. Megan says:

    I’m so happy I got to meet you last night! This event was so fun, and I definitely have some new goat cheese recipes to try. I missed the dessert table completely, so I’m glad you tried some of everything and I get to check everything out through your pictures!

  7. Daisy says:

    i loved that beer too! and obviously the key lime cheescake! yum!

  8. Melissa says:

    I loved the panko crusted goat cheese and the wines! I’m already planning to make those goat cheese disks – yum!

  9. Hehe I love that you camped out by the desserts! 🙂

  10. I saw you briefly at the event but there were so many people and it was cramped! But that cheese table was AMAZING.

  11. Meesh says:

    come to think of it, I did see you by the dessert table! lol! nice to meet you last night!

  12. sssourabh says:

    Hey there, long time no chat. I actually like whole foods’ cakes, have you tried them? They are decadent, come in all varieties, with amazing designs. And very tasty too! Not overly sweet like grocery store cakes, and always fresh tasting. And very creative! This inspires me to blog about them too. Hope all is well!

    Being a foodie did you make it to the chocolate show in New York? Its every November, you should try come at least once. I was there this year (was at the Paris one last year)! See if you’ve tried my favorite brands there: http://sssourabh.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/chocolate-devotion/

Leave a Reply

