Homemade Oreos

For the Boston Blogger Cookie Swap, I decided to make one of my favorite fun yet simple cookies, homemade Oreos. In the past year, I have perused dozens of recipes for homemade Oreos. Some attempt to replicate the taste and texture of an Oreo very closely, while others start with the simple concept of a chocolate sandwich cookie and expand on it.

I am not a fan of the recipes that closely replicate the Oreo, using a crisp chocolate wafer and a filling with shortening that maintains its shape at room temperature. I much prefer a softer chocolate cookie, one that you can bite into without the filling oozing out from the sides. I also find shortening repulsive and always prefer a flavorful all-butter buttercream.

For the cookie, I followed this recipe from He-Eats, with a few changes. I formed the cookies by hand instead of rolling out the dough, hence the ragged edges on mine. I did not refrigerate the dough. I also took them out of the oven about a minute earlier than directed, because as I said, I prefer a softer cookie. (All of my changes sped up the process. I do not mind ragged edges. If you would prefer a more uniform looking cookie, follow Edd’s version exactly). The cookie is cocoa-y and not very sweet, which makes it the perfect vehicle for the very rich and sweet buttercream.

The filling is my all-time favorite butter and confectioners sugar buttercream. I colored the frosting bright pink for a little twist on the usual appearance. The cookie is definitely a rich one. When you assemble the sandwiches, the aroma of intense cocoa and sugary buttercream becomes intoxicating.

Store-bought Oreos are good for some things. They make an excellent crumb crust and I love them in ice cream. If I am enjoying a simple cookie on its own though, I prefer a soft, rich homemade version. I like a lot of filling in general, though I was particularly liberal with this batch. I will call these my homemade Double Stuf Oreos.

Homemade Oreos
adapted from He-Eats

Makes 16 sandwich cookies
Ingredients
1 1/4 Cup Plain (AP) Flour
3/4 Cup Dutch Process Cocoa Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
5 Tablespoon Unsalted Butter, Melted and Cooled
2/3 Cup Light Brown Sugar
1 Large Egg

Cream Filling
4 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter
1 1/2 Cup Confectioners Sugar
1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Cookies
1. Preheat the oven to 350. In a medium bowl whisk the Flour, Cocoa, Salt and Baking Powder together.
2. In a large bowl mix the sugar, butter and egg. Add the Flour mixture and mix until a dough forms. You may need to get you hands in for this stage as the dough is quite dry
3. Form cookies by rolling the dough into half-inch balls and flattening them with your palms. Arrange on a baking sheet a half-inch or so apart. The dough should make exactly 32 cookies.
4. Bake until firm and dry on top, about 7-8 minutes, longer if you prefer a crisper cookie. Remove and let cool on wire racks.

Filling
1. In the bowl on an electric mixer beat the butter until light and fluffy. Slowly add the sugars beating until combined. Beat in the Vanilla.
When cookies are completely cooled, spoon a generous amount of filling onto one and press it into a sandwich using a second wafer.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Homemade Oreos

  1. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    These look great! Flour also has a great recipe for homemade Oreos!

  2. Linda says:

    I hope you’ve saved a few to bring home! These look like they are just calling out for another taste test in NY.

  3. kathycancook says:

    also: they were delicious! Glad you came it was super fun!

  4. Lara says:

    These were delicious! I loved the neon colored filling!

  5. This is so awesome! I never eat oreos (or any premade packaged foods for that matter) because of all the yucky ingredients. So I will definitely have to try these!!! I’m excited!

  6. Melissa says:

    Loved your oreos last night! And I think shortening is gross too! Great first photo too!

  7. Megan says:

    These look delicious! FYI – the Flour cookbook has a great Oreo cookie recipe. You could underbake them and end up with a softer cookie.

  8. Alicia says:

    They look yummy!! Shortening in recipes freaks me out….I’m more of a butter girl.

  9. Emily says:

    Oh, yummy! I’m not even sadder to have missed the swap. I had homemade oreos from Flour recently… they are incredible. Your recipe makes me want to try to make them too!

  10. Taryn says:

    These do look great! I like the addition of extra stuffing… I prefer my homemade oreos to be overstuffed too 🙂

Leave a Reply

