Brunch Plates at Dorado

When I tried out Dorado’s brunch last month, I merely scratched the surface with a breakfast taco and Mexican hot chocolate. Last Sunday, I returned to Dorado with one of my favorite blogger friends, Katie, who had yet to try out the brunch offerings. We met up at noon, both with empty stomachs ready for a hearty brunch. Katie ordered the Quesadilla brunch plate. The quesadilla is made with three cheeses, scrambled eggs and salsa and your choice of an optional filling. Katie chose the house-made pork chorizo. The brunch plate includes Mexican rice and beans. The great thing about Dorado is, you get a lot of good-tasting, high quality food for very little money. Her entire meal cost $6.50.

The quesadilla alone was quite large, and the sides of rice and beans make it an extremely filling meal. One of the things that both Katie and I commented on was the modest amount of cheese. People usually rave about excessive amounts of cheese but Katie and I agreed that it was nice without thick gobs of melted cheese. It also helped in allowing the other ingredients to stand out, since this was not just a cheese quesadilla. I definitely plan to try out the brunch quesadilla myself the next time around.

I opted for the Two Breakfast Tacos Plate which comes with your choice of any two tacos along with Mexican rice and beans. I chose the standard breakfast taco with scrambled egg, salsa, and guacamole, and the breakfast taco with grilled zucchini, red peppers and cotija cheese. The scrambled eggs are fluffy, the salsa tangy and the guacamole rich and creamy. Each taco is wrapped in two soft corn tortillas. You can use the second tortilla to help keep the filling contained in the taco. But I prefer to let the contents spill out and then eat them mixed with the rice and beans. It is a meal that will keep you full till dinner and costs only $6.25.

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas
401 Harvard St.
Brookline, MA 02446

Past reviews:
Dorado Tacos & Cemitas
Dorado Tacos & Cemitas II
Dorado Tacos & Cemitas III

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brunch Plates at Dorado

  1. Lauren says:

    Mmmm… everything looks delicious! I’m with you on quesadillas – I love cheese, but in moderation. I like to taste the other ingredients in the quesadilla as well.

  2. Megan says:

    I haven’t eaten breakfast yet, and that quesadilla is looking so good!

  3. Daisy says:

    you have been here a lot! the breakfast looks wonderful, so glad someone took Katie up on her offer!

  4. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    Wow, that looks like a lot of food for such a great price!

  5. Emily says:

    holy yum… those tacos are mouth watering! Is this place new? I’ve never seem it but am now dying to go. Immediately. Even though I just ate.

    • Elizabeth says:

      They opened about a year ago, just down from Coolidge Corner in Brookline. I’m in Brookline usually at least twice a week and my boyfriend is obsessed with their fish tacos, so I end up going there pretty often. They are good.

  6. Melissa says:

    Yum I love a big plate of food for a small price! I’ll have to go here sometime!

  7. That looks like a serious brunch! yummmm

  8. Love it! That was so fun….Even though I fought fullness and ate it all (yes, that’s right!) I was filled up for the entire day. Best bargain brunch out there. We’ll have to do it again soon! Hope you had a great holiday!!!

  9. Alicia says:

    mmmm – love it! I only went to Dorado once, but I really enjoyed the cemita. The brunch looks yummy and fun!

  10. Pingback: Dorado Tacos « A little bit about a lot of things

Leave a Reply

