Chocolate Mint Chocolate Cookies


Last weekend my roommates and I hosted a cookie swap at our apartment (recap to follow). This time of year, there are lots of peppermint based desserts, lots of mint frostings and cookies with candy cane bits. Most of them don’t really do it for me. I don’t actively dislike them, but there are so many other flavors I would choose before mint. But for some reason, this cookie defies my slight mint aversion. I discovered it last winter. My former roommate Kelly returned home from a cookie swap with some treats to share. One of them was a chocolate peppermint bark cookie. I declined at first but Kelly insisted that I try it. And it was delicious. The mint flavor was present, but mellow.

I liked them so much that I wanted to recreate them. Kelly got the recipe, which turned out to be Garrett McCord’s Peppermint Bark Chocolate Cookies. I made them according to his recipe last year and loved them. This year though, I decided to play around a bit with the recipe. More often than not, my alterations are born out of necessity rather than desire. Garrett’s recipe is excellent. I just happened to look for ways to use up some of the ingredients that I had a surplus of. Instead of just unsweetened cocoa, I decreased the sugar and butter and mixed melted chocolate into the batter. I also used Green & Black’s Mint chocolate bar in place of the peppermint bark, which produces a mellower, more aromatic mint flavor.

The dough is very firm. I rolled it into balls and then flattened them with a glass before baking. Be careful not to overbake them. Take them out as soon as the edges are set. The centers will be soft and will set up once they cool. They cookies are fudgy, but not overly rich, and are packed with big chunks of chocolate. The recipe is easily adaptable, and you could make it into a simple double chocolate cookie by replacing the mint chunks with plain chocolate chunks. But the mint adds an excellent flavor and I highly recommend it. And that is saying something coming from mint’s non-fan.

Chocolate Mint Chocolate Cookies

INGREDIENTS
3/4 cup of butter (1.5 sticks)
1 cup of brown sugar
1/4 cup of white granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, melted
1 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour
1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 3.5 ounce bar mint-flavored chocolate (I used Green & Black’s Mint bar), chopped into small chunks

DIRECTIONS:
1 Preheat the oven to 350°F.
2 Cream the butter and sugars together for about two minutes at medium speed, until blended and light in color.
3 Add the egg and the vanilla extract, beat for about a minute. Stir in the melted chocolate.
4 Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder. Add to the butter mixture, and beat at medium speed until incorporated
5 Fold in the chopped mint chocolate.
6 Roll the dough into one inch sized balls and place onto a baking sheet. Flatten each ball with the bottom of a glass. Bake for 8-9 minutes. Let cool on the pan for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes approximately 3 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Mint Chocolate Cookies

  1. Emily says:

    love the combo of mint and chocolate! Would probably pair well with hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    During this holiday season, I can’t get enough of the mint and chocolate combo. These look fantastic!

  3. Daisy says:

    these look excellent. I’m so glad you were inspired by mint, and nice job changing up the recipe to use what you had in the kitchen.

    Merry Christmas Eve! !

  4. Chocolate and mint make the perfect pair… especially this time of year. I so wish I had a block of that mint chocolate so I could make it. I’ll have to pick some up from the store, I guess!

  5. Pingback: House Cookie Swap | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

