Vermont Brownie Company

I like people who understand that food is the perfect gift. At least for me it is. A few weeks ago, Dave and I were watching one of my favorite Food Network shows, Throwdown with Bobby Flay. One of the reasons I love it is because he often showcases lesser known food producers that have more of a regional following.

In the episode, Bobby challenged Katherine and Shawna of Vermont Brownie Company. As soon as I saw their brownies, I stated “I want those. Now.” Metaphorically speaking. I’m not really one to go ahead and mail order brownies for myself. But luckily, Dave’s dad was searching for a present for me and Dave passed on this little item from my wish list. And lo and behold, the VBC brownies were mine. (Thank you Peter!) I wish that could happen more often.


Lucky for me, he ordered a sampler pack, meaning I got to try several different flavors. VBC makes nine flavors in total. I could say that the Signature brownie was the first that I tried. But that would be a lie. It WAS however, the first one I photographed. The brownie is cocoa-y with a soft and fudgey inside that is not dense or heavy. The top crust is smooth and crumbles nicely when you bite into it.

Another reason I love VBC is that they source as many ingredients locally as possible. They come from companies you’ll recognize: King Arthur Flour, Highland Sugarworks Maple Syrup, and Vermont Butter and Cheese Company, to name a few.

The Walnut Chunk brownie was one of my favorite flavors. It is packed with big pieces of walnuts and topped with bittersweet chocolate chunks and sprinkles of sea salt. I don’t often like walnuts in brownies, but they got it right in this one. The texture of the brownie was the perfect complement to the nuts. When brownies are very rich and fudgey, I find nuts to be overkill, and if the brownie is cakey, I find the nuts too dry. This brownie was the perfect middle ground and the large, very fresh walnuts were a welcome addition. The chocolate chunks and sea salt on top added an extra note of sweet and salty.

With the abundance of holiday desserts, I did not feel the need to devour all of the brownies right away, so for now the rest are chilling safely in the freezer, as VBC recommends doing. I plan to do a follow up post when I try the remaining flavors, which include: dark chocolate chevre (the flavor featured on Throwdown), espresso dulce de leche, and maple toffee crunch. I am also dying to try peanut butter and pumpkin spice.

If you’re curious to know who won the throwdown, see the clip below, though you can probably guess.

Vermont Brownie Company
http://www.vermontbrowniecompany.com

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vermont Brownie Company

  1. The best brownie I ever tasted!! I am like salivating for the dark chocolate chevre right now (yes, it’s still breakfast but I don’t mind brownies for breakfast). Glad you finally got to try them!

  2. Melissa says:

    I wouldn’t expect mail order brownies to look so fresh but these look awesome! Like homemade but better. Can’t wait to hear how the others taste, especially the dark chocolate chevre – wow!

  3. mollyparr says:

    Mmm…reading about dark chocolate chevre brownies makes me want to get out the double boiler during this holiday weekend and start experimenting! If that fails, Vermont Brownie Company will definitely be hearing from me.

  4. Debbie says:

    I love the chevre brownie! We traveled up to wallys place bagel bakery (where they bake the brownies) to get them!!

  5. Megan says:

    I bet the dark chocolate chevre will be good. I recently had a lemon chevre truffle that was amazing. Food is definitely a perfect gift!

  6. Daisy says:

    I love that brownies were on your wishlist and I am so glad they were delicious.

  7. Haha the only thing I saw when your blog opened is a giant brownie, I love it! Chocolate chevre sounds like it would be the most decadent thing ever. I can’t wait to hear about it!

  8. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know so much approximately this,
    such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I think that you simply can do with a few p.
    c. to drive the message house a little bit, however instead of that, this is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

