So Long 2010

And so ends the year that was the birth year for my blog. After spending far too long talking about how I should document all of my food experiences, I finally started FreeFoodBoston in June. And what an amazing seven months it has been. I have met chefs, bakers, farmers, fellow bloggers, writers, and just plain lovers of food. It has been such a privilege to write about and explore what I love. So to anyone who has taken the time to read my blog, whether you are a loyal daily reader, or someone who just happened upon one post, thank you.

I am so excited to continue to grow my blog in 2011. I also have a few significant changes in store that you will hopefully see very soon. I love writing about the foods I try and discover and I will of course continue to share those with you. If you have any comments or feedback about what you like about my blog and what you would like to see more of in 2011, I would love to hear it.

Looking Back
I decided to take a look at what posts on my blog were viewed the most this year. The findings were quite informative. If you read my blog, you know I have a sweet tooth the size of Texas. And apparently, the sweet stuff is what you like the most as well. The top seven most viewed posts all pertained to dessert. Four out of those seven were about cupcakes. I do eat quite a lot of cupcakes, which partially has to do with a certain project of mine. Below are the posts that were most viewed on FreeFoodBoston:

1. Food Trucks at SoWa: Cupcakory
Pictured: Chocolate cupcake with salted caramel buttercream

2. Cherry Bomb Bakery

3. Homemade Oreos

4. Treat Cupcake Bar


5. Peels: The Bakery
Pictured: Pecan sticky bun


6. We Make Cupcakes
Pictured: Pumpkin, red velvet, chocolate and vanilla cupcakes

7. Petsi Pies

The Best Of…
I enjoyed reading many other people’s year-end recaps. I was not feeling the need to do one, and then yesterday, the urge struck. I wanted to take a look at the things I ate in 2010 that I remembered most. So without further ado:

Top 5 Things I Ate in Boston

1. Grilled strawberry shortcake kabob with black truffle, mint and vanilla bean ice cream made by Brian Poe at Chefs in Shorts.

2. Elote, Dorado Tacos & Cemitas

3. S’mores cupcake from Mix Bakery

4. Vegetable Pad See Ew, Tamarind House

5. Apple cider donuts, Cider Hill Farm

Honorable mention:
Chickpea fritter from Clover
Blackberry blueberry ginger pie from Danish Pastry House
Pumpkin whoopie pie from Henrietta’s Table
Grilled bread with olive oil, concord grape jelly, & homemade ricotta from Rocca
Great Pumpkin Cupcake from Kickass Cupcakes

Best Things I Ate Outside of Boston
Since I tend to eat more when I am traveling, I had quite the list of notable foods from out-of-town. The following are my favorites:

1. Almond Croissant
Patisserie au Kouign-Amann, Montreal

2. Margherita pizza
Roberta’s, NYC

3. Peach Gazpacho and our entire meal
Laloux, Montreal

4. The Smithwich
The Smith, NYC

5. Roasted medjool dates stuffed with Manchego and wrapped in Serrano ham
Cava, Portsmouth, NH


6. Apple cider caramel macaron
Macaron Parlour, NYC


7. Zucchini bread french toast
Penny Cluse Cafe, Burlington, VT

8. Margherita pizza
Motorino, NYC

9. Roasted golden beet tart with wild arugula & basil puree,
Foodbuzz Festival, San Francisco

Thank you so much for your readership in 2010. I would love to hear any feedback you have. Have a happy and safe new year and I look forward to sharing many more meals with you in 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So Long 2010

  1. Megan says:

    I loved getting to know you and your blog these past few months. All the best in 2011!

  2. Julie says:

    This blog is amazing – it makes me hungry and happy all at once. I genuinely enjoy Elizabeth’s thoughtful and honest feedback on local (and sometimes non-local) eateries. Thank you for keeping me entertained in 2010! I look forward to reading/eating more of your suggestions in 2011.

  3. Liz says:

    I just recently started following your blog, so it’s good to start with a recap! The sweets trend is great – all of those cupcakes look delicious. My favorite is the ice cream sandwich…so tempting!

    Happy 2011!

  4. Emily says:

    Love the recap. I’m glad to have your blog as part of my daily reading. Always great stuff here. Let’s be sure to hit up Petsi’s in the New Year!

  5. Great post! Looking forward to more adventures in 2011!

  6. Michael Brau says:

    Your blog is a continuous joy to read and view. Pictures are amazing!
    (It was Robertas in Brooklyn, right? Great restaurant!)
    Happy New Year
    Michael

Leave a Reply

