Banana Chocolate Chip Streusel Coffee Cake

It is not a rare occurrence for there to be a surplus of ripe bananas at my parents’ house, so when I am home, I often find myself looking for a recipe to make use of them. I spent some time last week on Megan’s blog and was intrigued by a Banana Chocolate Chip Streusel Coffee Cake, originally from Epicurious.

I had made banana chocolate chip muffins last month, and while they were good, I wanted something more interesting. Megan’s description of the cake won me over. It consists of a tender banana cake layered with a chocolate chip walnut streusel. The cake is baked in an 8-inch square pan. You pour in half of the batter, then top it with half of the streusel, and then repeat.

I have been experimenting lately with whole wheat pastry flour. I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour called for and I was very happy with the results. I find that in recipes that use a lot of sugar and fat, like this one, you can rarely notice a substitution of whole wheat flour in the taste. The cake calls for white sugar but I subbed brown sugar because that is all I had. I also decreased the amount of sugar called for in the recipe because it seemed like between the cake and streusel there would be enough sweetness.

I was very happy with the finished product. The cake was moist and banana-y. The streusel provided a lot of texture and made the cake much more festive than a standard banana bread. My only change would be to use fewer chocolate chips next time. I wrote the original amount called for in my adapted recipe below, but when I make this next, I will use only about half the amount of chocolate chips. As you can see from the picture, they were in such abundance that the filling became a solid layer of chocolate in some places. If that is your thing, then by all means use the full amount. I happen to prefer a little more cake with my chocolate chips.

Banana Coffee Cake with Chocolate Chip Streusel
adapted from Megan and Epicurious

Makes 12 servings

  • 1 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips (about 8 ounces)
  • 2/3 cup (packed) brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup (packed) brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/3 cups mashed very ripe bananas (about 3 large)
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 8x8x2-inch metal baking pan. Stir chocolate chips, 2/3 c. brown sugar, walnuts, and cinnamon in small bowl until well blended; set streusel aside. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat 2/3 c. brown sugar, room temperature butter, and egg in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in mashed bananas and milk. Add dry ingredients and blend well.

Spread half of batter (about 2 cups) in prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with half of streusel. Repeat with remaining batter and streusel. Bake coffee cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Cool coffee cake in pan on rack.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Banana Chocolate Chip Streusel Coffee Cake

  1. Michelle says:

    That is a great tip about substituting whole wheat flour where you can. In some instances, I’ve noticed a difference but it has usually be in low-fat recipes.

  2. I love banana and chocolate together. I will definitely be making this, and I find the tip about halving the chocolate chips very helpful. I will likely do the same!

  3. mollyparr says:

    I love the bonus layer of streusel in the middle. It sounds like it really brings each bite to the next level of deliciousness.

  4. fabulousfoodie says:

    This looks unbelievable! Like Michelle I also love that you substitute wheat flour. I bet with all the other tastes going on, it could almost go unnoticed, yet it is so much healthier!

  5. Daisy says:

    Great use of the Banana surpluss! this looks SO GOOD!

  6. This sounds divine!! I would most probably follow all your tips (including using half the amount of chocolate chips – surprising coming from me but I know what you mean about wanting more cake…) Great pics too, my mouth is watering!

  7. Emily says:

    Love this and will likely be making it this weekend!I love banana and chocolate. Plus the presence of fruit makes me feel like a dish is a legit breakfast!

  8. Melissa says:

    Wow this looks delicious! I’ll remember this for brunch recipes!

  9. Megan says:

    I wonder if I used extra chocolate chips… I often do. Ha ha. Glad you liked the recipe, and you made some awesome adaptations.

  10. that looks really really good 🙂
    by the way i added you to the http://www.bostonbloggers.com blog roll!

  11. KeepItSweet says:

    This looks incredible!!

  12. Pingback: Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread with Almonds | Free Food Boston

  13. Dilzy says:

    This looks AWESOME, will definitely give it a go 🙂

  14. Dilzy says:

    YUMMO, thanks Elizabeth. I tried this today for some special guests and it was so lovely and rich. However, I actually didn’t have any walnuts on hand but instead I substituted some fresh dates. Try it next time. I also used less chocolate chips (about 1 cup) and used self raising flour instead of the whole wheat, and omitted the baking soda. I’m off to thank Megan now. By the way, I posted this recipe on my blog. Hope that’s ok. I did include the link back to your blog.

  15. Emma says:

    Yum yum! Just made this all the way over in New Zealand. I didn’t have any ground walnuts so decided to use coconut instead…turned out really good! 🙂

  16. MaryRay says:

    Yes, this is a valid recipe. Yes, I loved it. Yes, my son loved it. Yes, my dinner guests enjoyed it. Yes, my neighbors downstairs raved about it! Make it! I used dark chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

