Chunky Butternut Squash Soup with Apple and Ginger

For the past few days, I’ve had a basket of winter vegetables burning a hole in my kitchen counter, so to speak. I was particularly keen on utilizing two butternut squash that were starting to show their age. I also have an enormous bag of apples from the Somerville Farmers’ Market last weekend. I sometimes have success with plain butternut squash soup, but often I find myself scrambling at the end to add more seasoning because it is lacking something. Apple adds flavor so easily, I have found, it almost feels like cheating.

I used to make butternut squash soup by roasting the squash in the oven and then cooking the squash on the stovetop with broth and seasoning. But I never really enjoyed scooping the piping hot squash or having to wait long enough for it to cool. At a certain point, I decided that peeling and chopping the raw squash was the lesser of two evils. After sauteeing chopped onion in a pot, I added cut up squash and a few minutes later, chopped apple. I let them cook in the pan for a few minutes before adding water, reducing the heat, and allowing the mixture to simmer. I also threw in some ginger, which complements squash beautifully and also counters the sweetness from both the squash and apple. The ginger came from my freezer and was very fibrous. Rather than trying to chop or grate it into small enough pieces, I left it in large chunks that I could easily fish out after the soup was done cooking.

I let the mixture simmer over a very low flame for close to an hour. When the squash and apple were sufficiently soft, I seasoned it with salt and pepper. With the flavor from the apple and ginger, I found it did not need additional seasoning. The only herb I might have added was sage, but alas, I did not have it on hand. I had originally intended to pour this into a blender and puree it (I am in the process of procuring an immersion blender). I tried some of the soup chunky, though, and quite liked it. I decided to save myself the hassle of transferring it to a blender and left it unpureed. Whenever I have butternut squash soup at a restaurant, it is almost always pureed, so this was a nice alternative. If you have never tried it chunky, I highly recommend it.

Chunky Butternut Squash Apple Ginger Soup

Ingredients
Olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
2 medium butternut squash or 1 large, peeled and chopped into 1-inch pieces
2 large apples, chopped into 1/2-inch pieces
2 cups water
5 1-inch chunks of fresh or frozen ginger, peeled

Heat olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven and add onion. Sautee for ten minutes, until translucent. Add squash, cook for five minutes. Add apple and cook for another five minutes, stirring every so often. Add water, should be enough to just cover the contents, and the chunks of ginger. Once mixture is bubbling, lower heat and cover. After about an hour, check squash and apples for softness. The pieces should be extremely tender and fall apart easily. Season with salt and pepper. If you like, puree with a blender or immersion blender, or do as I did and enjoy your soup chunky.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chunky Butternut Squash Soup with Apple and Ginger

  1. Michelle says:

    This is such a great vegetarian soup and I can’t wait to get a chance to head to the Winter Farmer’s Market!

  2. Mmm this reminds me of the squash and apple curry soup I just made. Lots of ginger! These flavors are so great together and I love how your soup has so much texture!

  3. mollyparr says:

    That’s a shame about the fibrous frozen ginger. I’ve found that letting it sit for a few minutes before using it softens it and makes it good to go. I wonder if the root was questionable before tossing it in the freezer. Very curious indeed…

  4. David says:

    That sounds good! Save me some

  5. How pretty! I love how you left it chunky for something a little different. And, an immersion blender will change your life. I love mine!

  6. Daisy says:

    you are right, restaurants totally serve pureed and never chunky. nice of you to switch things up.

  7. Megan says:

    That looks great. I actually made butternut squash soup with apples last week. (Post coming in a few weeks.) It was similar to this, but I used sage and thyme instead of ginger, and I ended up pureeing it though I did consider leaving it chunky like yours.

  8. HI Elizabeth!

    Thanks for commenting. I’m glad what I said struck a chord.

    I live in Waltham now, I went to Bentley actually! What a small world!

    Anyway, thanks for saying hi, just returning the favor 🙂

    That soup looks amazing.

  9. Hannah says:

    Nom-nom-nom-nom

  10. EatingPlaces says:

    Sounds delicious! I tend to make my soups with a lot of broth, so this is good inspiration to try something a bit chunkier.

  11. Alicia says:

    Mmmm….looks delicious! I started adding apple to my squash soup after I had a parsnip/apple soup that Daisy made for our potluck. So yummy. I might just leave my next batch chunky too!

Leave a Reply

