The Regal Beagle

On Monday, I headed out to Brookline to meet Christine and Steph for lunch. Steph is still relatively new to the Boston area and eager to try all the good food to be found. Since her office is in Brookline, I suggested The Regal Beagle in Coolidge Corner. I had a wonderful meal at The Regal Beagle close to a year ago and have been itching to go back ever since. I went for dinner that first time, when the restaurant was bustling and dimly lit, accentuating the dark, maroon color scheme of the space. It is quite different in the daytime. The room has a more relaxed feel with fewer people, unsurprisingly, and the natural light gives the space more of a cafe feel than the bistro appearance it takes on when the sun goes down.

The three of us were equally enticed by the quesadilla with butternut squash, black beans, cheddar and poblano peppers and decided to split it as an appetizer. The black beans and tender squash were melded together with a thick layer of cheddar. The tortilla was fried and nicely crisp against the soft fillings. A lemony mix of greens on top helped to counter the heft of the quesadilla.

Our server surprised us with a complimentary plate of dates stuffed with gorgonzola cheese and wrapped in bacon. I am always amazed by roasted dates. The dates alone are fairly meaty, with a tender sticky flesh and a skin that crisps and caramelizes when cooked.

Steph got the fish tacos with panko crusted cod, romaine, pickled red onion, chili-lime slaw and salsa roja. The plate was enormous with each taco taunting your willingness to pick it up and eat it with your hands.

Christine ordered one of the specials that day, a BLT with roast pork belly, a decadent pork lover’s dream.

Sometime in the last few months, I read a review that raved about Regal Beagle’s Persian lentil soup with sumac spiced yogurt and cilantro. I cannot for the life of me remember where it was, but that soup was certainly calling to me on a chilly afternoon. The soup was made with black beluga lentils, the kind that are very tiny and plump. They were tender without falling apart. The broth was very lemony thanks to the sumac, with just a little added tang from the yogurt. The flavor combination of the sumac, cilantro and the yogurt was complex and artfully balanced. I am immensely fond of all aspects of Regal Beagle. The restaurant itself is pleasant, the staff are exceedingly kind, and the food is magnificent. The dishes are creative yet completely approachable. The daily specials that Chef Laura Henry-Zoubir develops build off of an already inventive menu. You can find read them every evening on Twitter. And for any Food Network fanatics, Laura Henry-Zoubir, Regal Beagle’s chef, just won the most recent episode of Chopped. But we didn’t need Food Network to tell us she was talented; we already knew that.

Regal Beagle on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Regal Beagle

  1. iamahoneyee says:

    I went there one day for lunch on a weekend. I liked the food but hated the other customers- entitled parents who ignored their yelling kids. I’ll have to try again at another time since the food looks even better than before.

  2. Lara says:

    I love the Regal Beagle! Their manager Rich, is fantastic and the service is great. Love the pumpkin hummus and their fun cocktail menu!

    I look forward to reading their specials every afternoon on twitter – wish I could go more often!

    Great pics of your meal!

  3. I don’t go to Coolidge Corner often but always wondered about this place. Now that I know it’s fantastic, I’ll have to stop in next time I’m in the ‘hood. But, maybe at a time when yelling kids aren’t there 😉

  4. Daisy says:

    amazing review! the food jumps off the screen in your photographs. I’m totally going here….SOON!

  5. dude, we totally killed the bacon quota that day. also, the back bar is always fun (if you can snag a seat), esp for a drink or nibbles before or after a showing at the coolidge theatre. more now that ever, brookline = land of yummy.

  6. Nice review! I am going here for lunch next week, I think. The fish tacos look awesome!

  7. Megan says:

    Great review. I would definitely try that quesadilla. I am not in that area too often, but I’m noting this for when I am!

  8. You were in my neighborhood TWICE this week and didn’t say hi?! That’s it….tacos need to happen soon!

  9. Shannon says:

    omg i want those dates, that quesadilla and that soup 🙂 yum!! added to the list!

  10. OMG. I LOVE Reagal Beagle. I haven’t been in a while but every time I go it’s such a wonderful time!

  11. Alicia says:

    I love the quesadilla picture! It’s so gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

