Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I had been meaning to try out a recipe from the Flour Bakery cookbook ever since it came out last year, so when I was also struck with a craving for oatmeal raisin cookies last week, I turned to Flour’s recipe. The fun thing about a cookbook from a bakery that you frequent is that, in essence, you know what the recipes will produce. I know for a fact that I like Flour’s oatmeal cookies. My only changes to the recipe had to do with the mix-ins. Joanne Chang’s recipe is for oatmeal cranberry. I swapped out the cranberries for raisins. The recipe also instructs you to refrigerate the dough for at least a few hours before baking. While I fully intended to do that, I always like experimenting, and I was curious how the dough would bake up without having time to chill. The result? See below.

Proof that you should in fact let the dough chill for a few hours. While there was certainly nothing bad about this test batch, they were flatter and not thick and chewy like the cookies baked after the dough had time to rest. So I baked up the rest of the dough only after it had rested in the refrigerator. When I bake at home, I like smaller cookies, so I only used about 2 tablespoons of dough per cookie. For bigger, even chewier cookies, use closer to 1/4 cup of dough for each. I also like very crispy edges on oatmeal cookies. I was able to leave the cookies in the oven for a minute or so longer than instructed to get those extra-browned edges, and the centers still remained moist and chewy.

And since I really like the combination of of chocolate and raisins, and I can’t seem to stop experimenting, I threw some chocolate chips into one batch, which made the cookies even thicker and chunkier. I also took two of the cookies and sandwiched some vanilla ice cream in between, because I am absolutely in love with oatmeal cookie ice cream sandwiches. Moral of the story: this is an excellent, no-fuss oatmeal raisin cookie recipe that also leaves room for twists of your own. It produces a wonderfully thick and chewy cookie with crisp edges. You can alter the size of your cookies and baking time depending on how crispy or chewy you like them. You can add other mix-ins, chocolate and possibly nuts, without upsetting the dough. But whatever you do, as impatient as you may be, do not skip the few hours in the refrigerator.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Adapted from Flour by Joanne Chang

Ingredients
1 cup butter, room temperature
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cup flour
1 3/4 cup rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1 1/2 cups raisins
1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Directions
1. Beat the butter and sugars in a mixer or by hand until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cinnamon. Stir in the oats and raisins.

3. Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until thoroughly combined. On low speed, or by hand, gradually add the flour and oat mixture to the creamed butter, mixing until completely incorporated.

4. Chill the batter a few hours or overnight, covered.

5. To bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350ºF.

6. Drop the dough in 1/8 cup balls evenly spaced on the baking sheet and flatten the tops slightly with your hand.

7. Bake the cookies for 12-14 minutes, until just browned across the top. Remove from oven and cool completely.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. I want these for breakfast! They look really good. I am such a bad baker and don’t usually follow directions like chilling things, so it is interesting to see your observations on it!

  2. Daisy says:

    i’d say your first Flour recipe adaptation was a success, even though you didn’t chill the dough, these still look amazing.

  3. linda says:

    These cookies look delicious.

  4. Oatmeal cookies are probably my favorites. I love them with chocolate chips and love that you tossed them in there on a whim! Good tip on the refrigerations – I would have skipped that too!

  5. Melissa says:

    Yum I could go for one of these right now too. I’d leave out the raisins and craisins and just use chocolate though!

  6. These look amazing! I love oatmeal raisin cookies too. I have yet to tackle a recipe in the Flour cookbook yet. Your post has inspired me to start with oatmeal raisin cookies too 🙂

  7. Megan says:

    The thing I like about the Flour oatmeal raisin cookies (which I think you left out?) is the nutmeg. I always thought I hated nutmeg, yet I love those cookies. And when I started making them at the bakery and realized the nutmeg really contributes to the overall flavor, I was so shocked!

    Love all your experimenting… chilled cookie dough is definitely the way to go. And I love that oatmeal cookies are so versatile and hold up to so many different flavor combos.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Oh, good to know! I was out of nutmeg and figured that the combo of cinnamon and ginger would be sufficient, but now I’m definitely going to add nutmeg to the next batch. I need to remember that if I ever need tips on a Flour recipe, I can just turn to you 🙂

  8. biz319 says:

    Okay, I am putting these on the list to make STAT! I love chewy cookies – and oatmeal cookies are one of my favorites – thanks for sharing!

  9. Michelle says:

    I totally agree that oatmeal cookies are the best for ice cream sandwiches!

  10. Shannon says:

    oooh… these sound awesome. and i love the raisins and choc chips 🙂 great experimentation, too!

  11. Those look delicious! I have the Flour cookbook as well so I will have to check those out!

  12. Oatmeal raisin cookies are my absolute favorite kind of cookie. These look sooooo good. Had I known these were cooking up at your apt, I would have stopped by after school! 🙂

  13. Alicia says:

    I have yet to be disappointed by a recipe in this cookbook. I love it – Joanne Chang’s recipes are so clear and specific – they do produce results that are exactly like those of the bakery….
    I’m resisting the urge to start baking these at 9:30 at night.

Leave a Reply

