CookieBar by Dorie Greenspan

Photo credit: www.doriegreenspan.com

I am in transit today to some fun foodie destinations. In the meantime, enjoy a guest post from a very special guest: my mom! She recently checked out Dorie Greenspan’s pop-up store in New York and was kind enough to document it so that we may live vicariously through her. Check out her blog here.

CookieBar is a one-week-only pop-up store in the Mizu hair salon on Park Avenue and 59th Street in New York created by legendary baker and cookbook author Dorie Greenspan who describes her thoughts about a cookie shop: “The Kid [aka her son Josh Greenspan] and I have been thinking about opening a cookiestore for years. We’d bake cookies and talk about it. We’d eat cookies and talk about it. We’d bake more cookies and eat more cookies and think more and talk more. And, at last, we’re doing something: CookieBar!”


CookieBar is simply a table by the front window of the hair salon, but it’s topped with the most delicious cookies imaginable and sold by the always gracious Dorie and her son Josh. The cookies on display include Vanilla Sablés, a French butter shortbread round; Espresso Chocolate Sablés; Jammers, a sablé topped with jam and streusel; Broundies, a thick blondie; Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Dorie’s signature World Peace Cookies, made with Valrhona chocolate and fleur de sel.
We tried the Chocolate Chunkers, chewy chocolate cookies filled with chunks of chocolate, salted cashews, and dried Michigan cherries, and the Coconut Lime Sablé, a shortbread with lime zest rubbed into the sugar and topped with toasted coconut. Thechocolate is everything a chocolate-lover dreams of and the coconut-lime combination is divine.

Am I looking forward to Dorie opening her own cookie shop? Absolutely. But if she stays in the same neighborhood as the hair salon, I will be happy. It is 40 blocks from my apartment, far enough to be a special-occasion-only destination. It is perhaps the only way to be sure I will not overindulge.

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to CookieBar by Dorie Greenspan

  1. I love that your Mom guest posted on cookies!! Those look so good, love the post!

  2. dorie says:

    What a nice surprise to find this. Thanks, Mom! I’m really, really glad that Mom liked the cookies — hope I’ll see you and Mom the next time we pop.

    • Elizabeth says:

      Dorie! Thank you so much for coming to the blog! I live in Boston now and for the second year in a row I was so sad to miss your CookieBar but glad my mom got to try it. Please have it more often!

  3. What a great guest post. I wonder if my mom would do the same! The lime zest shortbread sounds incredible!

  4. Michelle says:

    I adore that your mom did a guest post!

  5. Daisy says:

    what a fun guest post! your mom is too cute! these cookie flavors sound incredible.

  6. Carole says:

    And I am so lucky to have been the one to share the experience with her!

  7. Sarah says:

    Love the shout-out to my home state Michigan cherries! They are truly the best. Also, your mom rocks.

  8. Megan says:

    Great guest post! I love those chocolate chunkers — made them from the recipe on Dorie’s blog.

    I should do something like this! 🙂

  9. Hi, Elizabeth’s mom 🙂

    I adore anything chocolate but I will go crazy for the coconut lime shortbread! I wish I am near a cookie bar right now…

  10. Linda says:

    Thank you everyone for all the nice comments. The guest post was fun to write — and Dorie is just wonderful.

  11. I wish my mom would guest post on my blog! hah

  12. sssourabh says:

    Finally one that I’ve been to! Though it didn’t make it to my list of top 10 cookies (one that needs updating….), which you’ve already seen (re: spicy cookie in barcelona), it was still fun.
    [yes, evidently reading up your new york posts for inspiration!]

Leave a Reply

