Life Alive

source


Life Alive
opened in Central Square last October serving exclusively vegetarian fare. Some people might call the interior hippy-crunchy and be inclined to mock it. In my opinion that would be unwarranted. The space is bright and cheerful and filled with plants and colorful decor. Behind the bright tiled counter, the staff are busy blending fresh juices and assembling plant-heavy plates. My friend Michelle was in town for a day last week and accompanied me on my first visit to Life Alive.

When I first peeked in, I thought it was a sit-down restaurant that also had a counter for to-go orders, but it turns out all orders are placed at the counter. If you are eating in, you take a seat at an available table and a server brings over your dish when it is ready. I ordered the Sufi Poet: red lentil hummus on top of a salad with cranberries, cashews, cucumber, granny apples, shredded carrots, greens and a balsamic vinaigrette. The red lentil hummus was the primary draw of this dish and luckily it delivered. I would hesitate to call it hummus though, as it was more of a hearty lentil mash than a spread. It was nutty and sweet and its smooth starchiness contrasted nicely with the crunchy raw vegetables and nuts. Many of the dishes are available in a full or demi-sized. The demi size is perfect for a smaller, lighter meal. 

Michelle ordered the Fool: Udon Noodles in a sesame ginger marinade with shitake mushrooms, tofu, kale, onions, shredded carrots and sesame seeds.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first experience here and am quite happy with this new addition to Central Square. Boston is lacking in good vegetarian restaurants, ones that take care to assemble dishes that are creative, appealing, and based a variety of fresh produce. The staff were exceedingly friendly as well. I know many people will dismiss Life Alive for its hokey name or vibe, or simply because it is vegetarian. That would truly be a shame. I think anyone who has an appreciation for good food and good ingredients could have an enjoyable meal here. If you have never been to a vegetarian restaurant, Life Alive would definitely be a good first one to try.

Life Alive
765 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA
Life Alive on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Life Alive

  1. Megan says:

    I haven’t heard of Life Alive, but that red lentil hummus (non-hummus) sounds good to me!

  2. Daisy says:

    I think that’s a pretty cool name! the food looks really good.

  3. I’ve always wondered about this place. I pass it often. Thanks for the review!

  4. mollyparr says:

    I’m so happy you reviewed this place. I’ve walked by it several times and have been quite curious. I love the sound of the red lentil hummus.

  5. Melissa says:

    I’ve heard about this place from my friend who lives in Central but I’ve never been myself. I’m glad you liked it! I would happily join you on your second visit!

  6. Jess says:

    Oh this looks awesome! Can we go there? Also, I wanted to say its decor and set up remind me of a cute place in Anchorage that I loved 🙂

  7. i love love love life alive! such great, feel-good food!

  8. Michelle says:

    Life Alive looks great! Your friend’s udon noodles look really delicious!

  9. I am so glad you posted this! I had read about this place right before it opened and completely forgot about it! It is now on my “to try” list!

  10. joan says:

    Life Alive ROCKS. I finally tried this place last month and have been just delighted with every thing I have eaten there. ( and I’m an omnivore not a vegetarian) I agree Elizabeth that this is THE vegetarian restaurant for any first-timer to try. I was mmm -MMH- MMHNN-ing my way through every single bite of the Goddess Bowl, (Life Alive’s, signature dish.)
    I added egg and avocado to the basic, (which I highly recommend!)
    The best part however, was how I felt after eating: both taste and texture cravings satisfied and thoroughly nourished, with out a hint of heaviness.
    Highly recommended!

  11. Emily says:

    Okay, technically this wasn’t your very first visit there…… but it was your first time eating there it sounds like!! I have pictures of the awesome plant window box in the front….so nice on a dreary march day.

  12. Alicia says:

    I went there a few times before I moved – I love fresh juices and this place had great combos of beet, carrot and greens. …I recommend their juice concoctions whole-heartedly!

  13. Pingback: Homesick Hummus Salad « Lovely Healthy

Leave a Reply

