Taste of the South End


Last Tuesday night I had the opportunity to attend Taste of the South End, a wonderful event organized by the AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts. Proceeds from the evening went to support the work of AAC. The event featured tastings from more than three dozen of the South End’s best restaurants along with wine and some fun entertainment (see if you can spot the drag queen above). Below, a look at several of the dishes offered throughout the evening:

Spicy tomato soup with grilled cheese and creme fraiche from Stir, Barbara Lynch’s demonstration kitchen and cookbook library.

Sweet corn masa tostada from Masa.

Plantain soup with fresh grated coconut from Noche.

Mini crab cake with lemon aioli from Davio’s.

Chicken pot pie from Pops.

Richard of South End Buttery doling out chocolate cupcakes and chai tea frappes.

Pork momos from Tremont 647.

Cream puffs from Flour.

Scallops with orzo and vegetables from Hammersley’s.

Fried oyster BLT from B&G Oysters.

Chilled seared duck breast with sweet potato vichyssoise and cherry compote on a sourdough crouton.

Please check out AAC’s website to learn more about the vital work that they perform in Massachusetts.

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Taste of the South End

  1. How was the plantain soup? I’ve never heard of that before!

  2. mollyparr says:

    Oh my goodness, everything looks simply scrumptious! Seared duck breasts, cream puffs, plaintain soup, oh my!

  3. Daisy says:

    everything looks so good! I’m headed to B&G later this week and I wish they had the Oyster BLTs on the restaurant week menu!!

  4. I want a mini crab cake! I wanted to go to this event too but had a work event that night. And yes I can spot the drag queen! haha

  5. had a blast with you at the event!!! can’t wait for cooking for a cause!

  6. Megan says:

    Ooh… I would have been all about that tomato soup!

  7. Michelle says:

    The TOSE looks like it was such a wonderful time…and for a good cause!

  8. Shannon says:

    oh i love the south end… i wish i could’ve gone!!

  9. Megan says:

    I’m so jealous you got to eat all of those things! great recap 🙂

  10. BosGuy says:

    This is one of my favorite events and I look forward to going every year. I posted a 2-minute video on my blog and YouTube of the Taste of the South End 2011 here, http://bit.ly/flUn2w

Leave a Reply

