My Dad

While tomorrow might be Mother’s Day, for me today is Father’s Day, it’s my dad’s birthday. I guess I’ll start by telling you that my dad is a pretty cool person. He grew up in Queens, NY to a Romanian-born mother and New York-born father. After college he did more things and went more places than I can keep track of. He had a passion for art and photography. Below, a photo of my dad’s in the New York Times in 1971.

In the 70s he began his career as a still photographer for movies and TV. It was not until much later in my life that I began to appreciate some of the earlier movies he worked on. He has a crew jacket from when he worked on The Big Chill in Beaufort, South Carolina in the early 80s . When I was younger, every time I saw the jacket I just thought it was a funny name for a movie. I finally saw The Big Chill in college and I realized what an iconic movie it was in addition to having one of the best movie soundtracks of all time.

In addition to being the best photographer I know, my dad is the ultimate New York foodie. I would not know what good pizza is if it weren’t for my dad. He always keeps me up to date on food and restaurant happenings. He sent me the photo below of a Margherita pizza from Roberta’s when the Madison Square Park Market first opened. Seriously, Eater and Grub Street have nothing on my dad.

Before I started a food blog, he would email me photos of things he’d cooked along with a description. He sent me the photo below along with the accompanying email: “This is what I used for dinner tonight. I started with a piece of wild caught swordfish steak. Then I chopped red & green peppers, red & white onions and garlic all mixed together with olive oil, salt and pepper. I put some of the mixture in the bottom of a oiled Corning Wear dish and then put in the fish and topped it with capers, sungold tomatoes, lemon slices and the rest of the mixture. I baked it at 400 degrees for about an hour. Delicious.”

His most compelling photography of late are his photos that capture everyday life in the city. Photos have been our way of staying connected ever since I left New York. Throughout college and to this day, he would send me photographs he’d taken around the city. When I studied abroad in Costa Rica, enjoying 80 degree weather every day, he made sure to send me photographs of the miserable snowstorms so I wouldn’t forget what I was missing :).

The subjects of his photo range from the quirky

to the cool

His email with this photo read, “the full moon tonight is the closest to earth that it will be all year and so appears bigger than usual. The bright dot to its left is Mars.”

to the hilariously adorable

to the beautiful.

My dad is so many things: artist, talented photographer, savvy foodie, comedian, guy who is likely to make friends with a stranger, but most importantly, caring father. I feel incredibly lucky to call him my dad.

Happy Birthday Daddy

all photos by Michael Ginsburg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Dad

  1. Dad says:

    What a delicious post, I love you honey.
    Dad

  2. linda says:

    Wow! What a wonderful birthday gift.

  3. Carole says:

    Elizabeth!

    What a wonderful tribute to your father!

  4. Erica Thomas says:

    What a great post about your father! 🙂 Loved the stories, especially about sending the winter weather while you were enjoying warm weather!

  5. Happy birthday to your Dad! That is really sweet 🙂

  6. Megan says:

    Aw this is such a sweet post. And that swordfish dish sounds incredible!

  7. Bridget says:

    I love this post 🙂 Such an awesome tribute to your dad!

  8. Michelle says:

    What a sweet post!

  9. Gloria Rosenzweig says:

    A delightful story about a delightful cousin-Happy belated Birthday Michael

  10. What a nice tribute to your dad Elizabeth! Those are seriously fantastic photos!

  11. Daisy says:

    your dad sounds amazing. so cool to learn where your love of food stems from!!

  12. Sarah says:

    My eyes welled up when I read this. What a sweet, beautiful post. Your dad is so lucky.

  13. Shannon says:

    what an awesome dad, and lovely post!

  14. becky says:

    LOVE.

Leave a Reply

