Taste of Cambridge 2011

Last night I had the pleasure of attending one of my absolute favorite culinary events in the Boston area, Taste of Cambridge. Taste of Cambridge is put on every June by the Cambridge Licensee Advisory Board and takes place in the courtyard outside the Charles Hotel. I have a particular fondness for Taste of Cambridge as it was one of the first culinary events I attended shortly after starting this blog last year.

Each year, the event organizers select two very worth organizations as beneficiaries. This year’s beneficiaries included the Salvation Army Cambridge/Somerville Corps and the Cambridge Program/Special Olympics: Saturday Program. This year’s event featured well over 50 Cambridge restaurants and food and drink purveyors. Below, a selection of some of the wonderful tastes prepared last night.

Roasted red pepper and tomato gazpacho from Sandrine’s.

Elote from the always friendly chef Erwin Ramos at Ole. This was definitely one of my favorite savory bites of the evening.

Golden tomato gazpacho, beef carpaccio with shaved parmesan and micro greens and pistachio macaron from ArtBar.

I was elated to see Oleana at the event this year. They had prepared toasted green wheat prepared in a Greek style with whipped feta dressing and wild oregano from Oleana. The wheat salad was richly flavored and spicy salad and the feta dressing was delightfully thick and tangy.

Deviled local farm eggs with chilled shrimp and micro greens from Russell House Tavern, which sadly I still have never been to.

Crispy duck tacos from Upstairs on the Square.

How2Heroes always puts together a fun themed spread for Taste of Cambridge and this year the theme was sandwich cookies and the USA. Their strawberry basil ice cream sandwich made on coconut cookies was one of my favorite desserts of the evening.

I was smitten with the strawberry bread pudding from Mariposa Bakery.

It’s always a delight to see Nicole, my favorite current pastry chef at Flour. She and her team were at Taste of Cambridge for the first time this year representing the newest Flour location in Central Square.

For the event, they were doling out the perfect summer treat- brown butter rice krispie treats.

An impressive spread of vegan desserts from the new Veggie Galaxy, a new vegan diner and bakery opening up in Central Square from the same people behind Veggie Planet in Harvard Square.

I had the opportunity to try pastry chef Jess Scott from Cragie on Main’s excellent peanut butter hobnob cookies at Taste of the Nation a few months ago and I could not have been happier that she decided to bring them again to Taste of Cambridge.

BBQ smoked brisket, BBQ baked beans and Southern style cornbread from Savenor’s.

Brushcetta with ricotta mixed with cinnamon and almonds and drizzled with truffle honey from Bambara. They were also serving up a lovely tomato-basil bruschetta and one with chickpea and squid.


Native field greens with Vermont goat’s milk feta and lemon herb vinaigrette from Henrietta’s Table. I told chef Davis that Henrietta’s had my favorite dish at Taste of Cambridge last year, the strawberry rhubarb crisp, and he joked that they decided to give the pastry chefs a break this year.

Though it is so close to where I live, I have never been to Christopher’s. I was pleasantly surprised with their deliciously hearty homemade veggie burger topped with pesto and rosted red pepper.

Congrats to the CLAB and to the Harvard Square Business Association on yet another wildly successful Taste of Cambridge. You can learn more about the event beneficiaries here:

Salvation Army Cambridge/Somerville Corps
Cambridge Program/Special Olympics: Saturday Program

This entry was posted in Boston, Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Taste of Cambridge 2011

  1. What a great event! I can’t believe I missed the elote. It looks amazing!

  2. Daisy says:

    simply amazing! such a great event!

  3. David says:

    The rice krispie treats were amazing and so was the photo of them.

  4. Linda says:

    This looks amazing. I remember the delicious peanut butter hobnob cookies from Cragie on Main at Taste of the Nation.

  5. This event was so much fun — too bad I missed you!! I have to agree that the Rice Krispie Treats stole the show. It took all my strength not to keep going back to Flour’s table!

  6. shannon says:

    so delicious. and yet a bit overwhelming 🙂 so many places i need to visit for real now!!

  7. Megan says:

    Wow… you found so much more stuff than I did! It was so crowded and hard to navigate. Wish I had seen that gazpacho and elote! Great seeing you there!

  8. Alicia says:

    You are so adept at navigating crowds. You should do a post on how to make the most of a crowded event!! Your pictures look great!

  9. Michelle says:

    It looks like you had some fantastic eats last night!

  10. Bridget says:

    I can’t believe I missed this again!! I already put it in my calendar for next year to remind me to get tickets earlier 🙂 Looks spectacular!

  11. Pingback: Cow & Crumb Baking Co | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

