Area Four Bakery, continued

Whenever I find a new bakery that I love, I develop an obsession and become determined to try every item they offer. Earlier this week I paid my third visit to the Area Four bakery, which is paltry by my standards, but I’ve been showing some restraint. Dave got the cinnamon roll which he tried and loved on our first visit.


A new item to me was the concha Mexican sweet bread. Concha means seashell, and is named as such because of its shell-like appearance. It is a simple vanilla, slightly cakey cookie that is baked with a butter, sugar and nut topping. It is not overly sweet but has a lovely vanilla flavor. It is hard to describe the texture of the frosting other than, it tastes like and has the texture of a baked frosting. Not soft and spreadable but still sweet and buttery. 

I finally tried the red velvet whoopie pie, which is itty bitty and perfect if you’re looking for something small. The cookies are moist with a subtle cocoa flavor and held together with a nicely sweet cream cheese frosting. My one complaint: I could always do with more cream cheese frosting.

On my second visit to Area Four’s bakery, I tried the nutter butter, composed of two oatmeal peanut butter cookies sandwiching a peanut butter buttercream. I saw a tweet a little over a week ago that pastry chef Katie replaced the nutter butter with the nutter jammer- two almond butter cookies sandwiching housemade almond butter and locally made jam. It is much more reserved and grown up than the nutter butter, far less sweet due to the lack of a sugary peanut butter buttercream. The cookies are soft in the middle and lightly crisp around the edges. The almond butter and jam filling nicely accent the almond flavor in the cookie. This cookie is what would result if you pointed a magic wand at an almond butter and jelly sandwich and transformed it into a dessert.

This was not my only visit to Area Four that day. I returned later that evening to try out the restaurant for the first time. Recap to follow shortly.

Area Four
500 Technology Square
Cambridge

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Area Four Bakery, continued

  1. Megan says:

    I must try that nutter jammer. (And I can’t believe you keep going there and not telling me… I work right there!) 🙂

  2. Daisy says:

    The Concha is beautiful looking, i love how it got its name.

  3. shannon says:

    omg. nutter jammer. must have. i love that you went twice in one day 🙂

  4. Again, you always seem to stumble upon the best baked goods! I’m coming next time 🙂

  5. You seriously do find the best baked goods!

  6. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    The nutter butter is seriously calling my name!

  7. Bridget says:

    I love that you keep going back there! I still haven’t visited but I know I’ll love it for the sheer fact that they have mini bites which I am usually all over 🙂 Maybe today will be the day!

  8. Alicia says:

    I love that you keep going back! and I love the idea of the nutter jammer! can’t go wrong with nut butter and jam!

  9. Pingback: Area Four Bar/Oven | Free Food Boston

  10. Pingback: Boston Brunchers at Area Four – GIVEAWAY | Free Food Boston

  11. Pingback: Brunch at Area Four – Giveaway from Free Food Boston! | Boston Brunchers

  12. Pingback: Brunch at Area Four | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

