Guest post: Tcho Chocolate

My sister, whose birthday we celebrated this past weekend, is stopping by to share one of the places she visited while in San Francisco a few weeks ago, the same visit during which she saw Michael Pollan at Chez Pannisse. I’m still riding a high from the most beautiful and fun wedding weekend and I’ll be back later with a recap. Enjoy!Visiting family in San Francisco a couple of weeks ago was wonderful. Getting out of the July heat in NYC was a bonus and I actually ended up wearing my cousin’s down jacket for half of the vacation. Walking along the Embarcadero one day, we happened upon a chocolate factory that I hadn’t heard of before called Tcho.

Following the arrow around the corner, we saw this sign above the door. We had to check it out. 

The Tcho Chocolate factory give tours twice a day, but they both were full by the time we got there (and after reading the reviews of the tour on yelp, I’m okay with missing it). The design of the store and on the boxes and wrappers is colorful and cheerful.

The store sells Blue Bottle coffee, as well as gelato bars and cookies made with their chocolate. There is a comfy area to sit while you enjoy your treats. I just helped myself to some of the chocolate bar samples and picked out some gifts for friends.

The packaging on the dark chocolate is in shades of pink, yellow and orange. The new milk chocolate line is in blue and brown.

The designs on the wrappers are echoed on the chocolate bars inside. We don’t have any such chocolate factory in New York, so it was definitely a treat to happen upon this gem in the Bay Area, and it’s definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. 

Tcho Chocolate
Pier 17
San Francisco, CA 94111
This entry was posted in Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guest post: Tcho Chocolate

  1. Michelle says:

    Aw, I love that your sister is a guest blogger today!

  2. Daisy says:

    you are so good with family guest bloggers! i’m really into the chocolate bar wrappers. cool spot!

  3. Those wrappers are really neat. Great guest post!

  4. Hi Elizabeth’s sister 🙂 I want some Tcho chocolate! When I try a new brand I always get milk chocolate, mmm-mmm.

  5. I’ll have to share this with my sister… who just moved to Cali and will be more likely to get to San Fran than I will!

  6. Joanne says:

    How have I been to SF twice and never heard of this place! Better question – how has my old roommate lived there for over two years and never heard of it! Need to go next time I’m there!

  7. I really wanted to go here while we were in SF but didn’t get the chance!

Leave a Reply

