Sweet & Social

On our way to the wedding rehearsal last week, we had a little extra time so Dave suggested we check out a new cupcake place that opened recently in his hometown. The new shop, Sweet & Social is a welcome addition to the area as the town was definitely lacking in the desserts department. Inside I was greeted by the very sweet owner, Beth, who echoed my sentiment that the area was in need of a good bake shop.

The space is cozy but not cramped and much of it is decked out in pink stripes. The display case showcases well over a dozen cupcake flavors, many of which go well beyond just a simple chocolate, vanilla or red velvet. The Tweet & Salty is a chocolate cake filled with caramel, topped with chocolate buttercream, dipped in chocolate ganache with cake crumbs and sea salt. The Curious George is a vanilla cake filled with banana custard, topped with peanut butter buttercream, dipped in chocolate ganache and drizzled with peanut butter sauce. You can view the full list of flavors here.

It being one of those hot and humid days, I opted for a more refreshing sounding Key Lime cupcake – vanilla cake filled and topped with lime flavored cream cheese and graham cracker crumbs. The cake was incredibly moist with a nice buttery flavor. There was no shortage of frosting as the cupcake was both filled and topped with it. It had a pleasantly mellow and sweet lime flavor and I am always a fan of graham cracker crumbs. I couldn’t help feeling though that a tangy lime curd filling would have paired nicely with the cake and frosting instead of a double dose of frosting. Sweet & Social makes a lemon cupcake similar to this construction, with a lemon preserve filling and lemon cream cheese frosting, that will be one of the flavors I try on my next visit.


We also got to try Sweet & Social’s version of a black and white cookie, a black and pink cookie. I grew up with these cookies so they hold a special place in my heart. The cookie was everything it should be, perfectly cakey and very thick with glossy, sweet icing. Sweet & Social gets major points in my book for bringing cupcakes to a previously cupcake-deprived area. I have a long list of flavors I intend to try on my upcoming visits.

Sweet & Social
1935a Palmer Ave
Larchmont, NY

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet & Social

  1. Daisy says:

    that key lime cucpcake looks to die for. I like your suggestion for elevating it – it does sound like frosting overload. very cute spot!

  2. I’ll say it again, but I want your pastry-finding life!

  3. Molly Galler says:

    These treats look incredible! I love black and white cookies! A childhood favorite for sure. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Megan says:

    I’ll take a Curious George, please!!

  5. Those desserts look so pretty! And tasty!

  6. Michelle says:

    The black and pink cookie looks adorable!

  7. People Need to Learn says:

    We have nothing like this in California. Such a shame, I could fine myself living in one of those shops.

  8. I love the sound of the lemon cupcake!

Leave a Reply

